We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling on a budget and wanting to stay in Soho?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solita Soho Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solita Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Solita Soho Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #301 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Travelling on a budget and wanting to stay in Soho?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked this hotel for a six night stay in NYC, and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay with our budget. The location was perfect, and the staff was very friendly. We booked a standard room with one queen bed, but upon arrival we were upgraded to a 'two double bed'-room in the top floor without any extra charge. -They thought we should have a bigger room as we were staying for almost a week. The room was plain, but very clean. The beds were really comfortable, and I loved the massage shower. It was more than big enough for us, but then again, we're used to European size rooms. We also had an amazing view from our window. We weren't troubled with any disturbing noise, but that might be due to staying on the 7th floor. I have recommended Solita Soho to friends travelling on a budget looking for a good location in NYC, and they were really happy with the hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a high floor. No disturbing noises from the street and possibly a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We are happy that your enjoyed your stay. We are delighted that you found the location convenient and most importantly the service met your expectations. We hope on your return you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you again for the kind words. I have shared them with all the staff as these reviews are among the best training resources and general feed back we have available.

Sincerely,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    146
    45
    27
    16
See reviews for
68
76
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel had a good location, in the middle of Soho. The neighborhood is the one that i love the most in NYC. It is close to a lot great shopping, litte italy and one of my favourite restaurants. The room was very very small, but clean. The staff was ok, nothing extra, but they did their job. I stayed in a room with a veiw to the backyard. And I must say that the backyard was noisy and disgusting.
I could stay here again, but not for more than 2 days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you like the location. I am sorry that the view from your rooms was less than desireable. On your return to the area I encourage you to request a higher floor in order to obtain the best views our property has to offer. Also the corner queen rooms tend to offer a little more space if the standard room was too small to suite your needs. Thank you again for being our guest and we do hope that you will return and give us another chance to serve your lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Solita Soho Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is well located a short walk from lots of fun shopping on Broadway. It is situated on the edge of Chinatown and an Italian area. The room was tiny, with no where to open our suitcases, or store them. Had to shove them under the desk.
That being said, the room , while cosy in size, was furnished with an excellent bed that was very comfy. We were on 4th floor and were not disturbed by the construction work taking place at the front of the hotel. I would recommend that you ask for a high floor.
There is a good Thai restaurant about a half block down towards Broadway. There is a French Restaurant next door, but we didn't like the people working there too much. Also, the food was OK, but a bit of a disappointment. The night we were there, trying to celebrate our wedding anniversary, they had the TV set on very loud, and the workers were glued to it, as the presidential debate was on. When asked to possibly turn the volume down, they didn't really bother much.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and choosing to stay with us while in New York. On behalf of the staff of the Solita Soho Hotel we hope you had a happy anniversary! Your feedback is very important to us as we like to ensure our guest have the best possible experience each time they stay. I am sorry that the room did not fully meet your needs. May I suggest the next time you stay with us, request a corner room upon check in. They are more spacious and offer a little more storage space for your personal items. We are very happy the construction did not disrupt your stay. We are trying our best to locate guests in areas of the hotel that are the least impacted by the noise and overall disturbance. Thanks again for being our guest and we hope you choose to stay with us again when you return.

Sincerely,
Andrew Brogdon
andrew@solitasohohotel.com
646-356-6066
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a nice little well-priced hotel! As others have said, very nice and friendly staff, requests quickly responded to, tiny rooms, but OK, the only reason we would reconsider staying here is the cleanliness, which is an issue! I hope they get this under control since otherwise a good place to stay in Soho.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in New York City. We greatly value your businsess and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the stay and would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with the room. Know that we are taking the comment(s) very seriously and are addressing the problems you encountered. We do hope you will stay with us again on your return and hopefully you will find the room clean and comfortable. We will be renovating the hotel after the first of the year. We hope to see you then if not before!

Sincerely,

Andrew Brogdon
andrew@solitasohohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Location was the prime factor in my choice of Solita Soho and what a great location it turned out to be! Absolutely perfect for a four night stay meeting my daughter in New York for a weekend of shopping and sightseeing but mainly shopping! Great too for eating out with an abundant choice of restaurants. The hotel is literally just rooms and our room was compact but perfectly adequate for our needs. Air-conditioning worked well and a great shower in the bathroom. My only criticism was that the room was quite dusty and needed a good hoovering which was soon remedied when I mentioned this to the front desk staff. All in all a good choice for the price-conscious traveller looking for optimum location.

Room Tip: Generally I'd always choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I wanted to reach out and say thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Please know that we are trying each day to improve in the areas that need the most attention. Your feedback is the most valuable tool we have to improve and provide clean comfortable rooms for each of our guests. We know you have many choices for lodging when in NYC and we are glad that your chose us. We hope when you return you will stay with us again and hopefully you will see the improvements we are making. Thank you kindly and we hope to see you again!

Best Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
andrew@solitasohohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was perfect, a block from Canal St, and within walking distance of Little Italy, Soho and Chinatown. There is no breakfast room in the hotel but the Landmark Diner across the road serves excellent food at a great price, and staff very friendly. The hotel was clean, beds comfy, and staff helpful. We would stay here again definately! Thanks Solita!!

Room Tip: We paid slightly more for a corner room, gave us a bit more space and nice view from our 8th floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I just got back from Solita after a five day stay and I can't say nothing else that that this is a great hotel. The location in perfect just next to the big street Broadway with a big selection of stores and shopping. The hotel itself is not that big but the rooms are nice and clean with a good view. The staff is excellent and will help you with everything you need from dinner bookings to belt you get a taxi back to the airport. They don't serve breakfast but there is a great breakfast place just across the street. I would really recomend this hotel to all you that are considering staying there. It's good value for the money and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solita Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solita Soho Hotel

Address: 159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solita Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Solita SoHo is a boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown New York City. The hotel is just steps away from traditional New York areas such as Little Italy, Chinatown, and the famous SoHo shopping.The Solita puts you right into the heart of SoHo where you get the true New York feel with its eclectic restaurants, nightlife, museums, shopping, and culture.We invite you to try this area of New York City out with us and let us know what true New York feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solita Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection New York City
Clarion New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solita Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.