We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff, but needs better housekeeping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solita Soho Hotel

Save Saved
You added Solita Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solita Soho Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #325 of 452 hotels in New York City
Oakton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and staff, but needs better housekeeping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a nice little well-priced hotel! As others have said, very nice and friendly staff, requests quickly responded to, tiny rooms, but OK, the only reason we would reconsider staying here is the cleanliness, which is an issue! I hope they get this under control since otherwise a good place to stay in Soho.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in New York City. We greatly value your businsess and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the stay and would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with the room. Know that we are taking the comment(s) very seriously and are addressing the problems you encountered. We do hope you will stay with us again on your return and hopefully you will find the room clean and comfortable. We will be renovating the hotel after the first of the year. We hope to see you then if not before!

Sincerely,

Andrew Brogdon
andrew@solitasohohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    138
    44
    26
    16
See reviews for
64
72
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Location was the prime factor in my choice of Solita Soho and what a great location it turned out to be! Absolutely perfect for a four night stay meeting my daughter in New York for a weekend of shopping and sightseeing but mainly shopping! Great too for eating out with an abundant choice of restaurants. The hotel is literally just rooms and our room was compact but perfectly adequate for our needs. Air-conditioning worked well and a great shower in the bathroom. My only criticism was that the room was quite dusty and needed a good hoovering which was soon remedied when I mentioned this to the front desk staff. All in all a good choice for the price-conscious traveller looking for optimum location.

Room Tip: Generally I'd always choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I wanted to reach out and say thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Please know that we are trying each day to improve in the areas that need the most attention. Your feedback is the most valuable tool we have to improve and provide clean comfortable rooms for each of our guests. We know you have many choices for lodging when in NYC and we are glad that your chose us. We hope when you return you will stay with us again and hopefully you will see the improvements we are making. Thank you kindly and we hope to see you again!

Best Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
andrew@solitasohohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was perfect, a block from Canal St, and within walking distance of Little Italy, Soho and Chinatown. There is no breakfast room in the hotel but the Landmark Diner across the road serves excellent food at a great price, and staff very friendly. The hotel was clean, beds comfy, and staff helpful. We would stay here again definately! Thanks Solita!!

Room Tip: We paid slightly more for a corner room, gave us a bit more space and nice view from our 8th floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I just got back from Solita after a five day stay and I can't say nothing else that that this is a great hotel. The location in perfect just next to the big street Broadway with a big selection of stores and shopping. The hotel itself is not that big but the rooms are nice and clean with a good view. The staff is excellent and will help you with everything you need from dinner bookings to belt you get a taxi back to the airport. They don't serve breakfast but there is a great breakfast place just across the street. I would really recomend this hotel to all you that are considering staying there. It's good value for the money and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for five nights. The hotel is right in the centre of the action of Little Italy and Chinatown with lots of restaurants to choose from. Right beside the hotel is Le Parigot French Restaurant which is good value if you choose from the fixed price menu. They also have a Happy Hour 5-7pm with cocktails at $5. Across the street is the Landmark Diner a good breakfast choice.
Our room was clean but small, but fine for us. It had a coffee maker and safe. Bed linen is only changed on request,if you leave the request card on the bed. Our bathroom seemed to be designed for people with disabilities as it had handrails at the bath tub and toilet, only problem was that there was not enough turning space in the bedroom for a wheelchair to access the bathroom as we discovered when our daughter, who is a wheelchair user came to visit. If you can walk a few steps it is fine. There is no bar/lounge or seating area in the hotel only an ice machine and vending machine in the lobby. Being New York,of course, you will not want to spend a lot of time there any way! Our room was at the back, but we still had some traffic noise. Not only is the hotel convenient to Broadway etc, but in the other direction you can walk up to 6th Ave and then into Greenwich Village for a less touristy, more authentic NYC experience. You can go buy cupcakes from the Magnolia Bakery and pass by the Perry Street apartment used as Sarah Jessica Parker's (both from Sex and the City).

One day we had a terrible noise all day in our room, which at first the receptionist tried to blame on the construction work in the street, but it was obvious to us that it was an internal noise when we returned later that evening when the work had stopped but we still had the noise. We went again to reception and although she was a little frosty, the receptionist did arrange for maintenance to come up. He arrived promptly and very quickly discovered that the noise was due to an airlock in the plumbing of an adjacent room, which he fixed very quickly. This was our only negative experience.

We would stay here again any time especially if you can get a good deal like we did. It is well run with good staff and the manger Alan Chan is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNY288, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear MacGray:

Thank you for your comments. Guests like you are the reason why we love what we do. Thank you for taking the time to write all the positive things about the hotel and the area.
I apologize for the internal pipe noise but am glad that my engineering department was able to get the problem resolved quickly.
I hope to see you again real soon in New York.
Sincerely,

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here recently while on vacation. Was only here two nights.

The stay was great, the room was more than adequate for the two of us. Had a great view of the Police Dept building, and outside we were steps away from great shopping on Broadway. Little Italy and Chinatown were very close too.

Housekeeping left a bit to be desired, there was permanent marker on the wall in the bathroom and some narly stain on the lamp shade.

Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you better sight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Loved this hotel in Soho! Stayed here for 6 nights during the heatwave around the East Coast and it was great. As you step out from the hotel, a block to your left is Lower Broadway (shopping) and to your right is Little Italy and Chinatown.

The rooms are small but comfortable, especially the bed - perfect for couples though, if you want a bit more space try get the corner rooms.

The two women that were at Reception while we were there were very helpful and friendly, unfortunately when we first checked in the man behind the counter (Not Peter) didn't seem very happy, quiet and not someone I'm used to that I usually would expect to be behind the counter of a hotel, although he was knowledgable and gave good advice.

All in all, great hotel for small groups and perfect location!

Room Tip: Corner suites are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNY288, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Kattymae:

Thank you for your response. I am always happy to get feed back of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the area and all of what SoHo has to offer and our staff could give the great customer service you would expect.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solita Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solita Soho Hotel

Address: 159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solita Soho Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Solita SoHo is a boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown New York City. The hotel is just steps away from traditional New York areas such as Little Italy, Chinatown, and the famous SoHo shopping.The Solita puts you right into the heart of SoHo where you get the true New York feel with its eclectic restaurants, nightlife, museums, shopping, and culture.We invite you to try this area of New York City out with us and let us know what true New York feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Solita Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection New York City
Clarion New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solita Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.