We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,very clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solita Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solita Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Solita Soho Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel) (SoHo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #302 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location,very clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for five nights. The hotel is right in the centre of the action of Little Italy and Chinatown with lots of restaurants to choose from. Right beside the hotel is Le Parigot French Restaurant which is good value if you choose from the fixed price menu. They also have a Happy Hour 5-7pm with cocktails at $5. Across the street is the Landmark Diner a good breakfast choice.
Our room was clean but small, but fine for us. It had a coffee maker and safe. Bed linen is only changed on request,if you leave the request card on the bed. Our bathroom seemed to be designed for people with disabilities as it had handrails at the bath tub and toilet, only problem was that there was not enough turning space in the bedroom for a wheelchair to access the bathroom as we discovered when our daughter, who is a wheelchair user came to visit. If you can walk a few steps it is fine. There is no bar/lounge or seating area in the hotel only an ice machine and vending machine in the lobby. Being New York,of course, you will not want to spend a lot of time there any way! Our room was at the back, but we still had some traffic noise. Not only is the hotel convenient to Broadway etc, but in the other direction you can walk up to 6th Ave and then into Greenwich Village for a less touristy, more authentic NYC experience. You can go buy cupcakes from the Magnolia Bakery and pass by the Perry Street apartment used as Sarah Jessica Parker's (both from Sex and the City).

One day we had a terrible noise all day in our room, which at first the receptionist tried to blame on the construction work in the street, but it was obvious to us that it was an internal noise when we returned later that evening when the work had stopped but we still had the noise. We went again to reception and although she was a little frosty, the receptionist did arrange for maintenance to come up. He arrived promptly and very quickly discovered that the noise was due to an airlock in the plumbing of an adjacent room, which he fixed very quickly. This was our only negative experience.

We would stay here again any time especially if you can get a good deal like we did. It is well run with good staff and the manger Alan Chan is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNY288, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear MacGray:

Thank you for your comments. Guests like you are the reason why we love what we do. Thank you for taking the time to write all the positive things about the hotel and the area.
I apologize for the internal pipe noise but am glad that my engineering department was able to get the problem resolved quickly.
I hope to see you again real soon in New York.
Sincerely,

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    155
    48
    28
    17
See reviews for
73
78
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here recently while on vacation. Was only here two nights.

The stay was great, the room was more than adequate for the two of us. Had a great view of the Police Dept building, and outside we were steps away from great shopping on Broadway. Little Italy and Chinatown were very close too.

Housekeeping left a bit to be desired, there was permanent marker on the wall in the bathroom and some narly stain on the lamp shade.

Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you better sight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Loved this hotel in Soho! Stayed here for 6 nights during the heatwave around the East Coast and it was great. As you step out from the hotel, a block to your left is Lower Broadway (shopping) and to your right is Little Italy and Chinatown.

The rooms are small but comfortable, especially the bed - perfect for couples though, if you want a bit more space try get the corner rooms.

The two women that were at Reception while we were there were very helpful and friendly, unfortunately when we first checked in the man behind the counter (Not Peter) didn't seem very happy, quiet and not someone I'm used to that I usually would expect to be behind the counter of a hotel, although he was knowledgable and gave good advice.

All in all, great hotel for small groups and perfect location!

Room Tip: Corner suites are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNY288, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Kattymae:

Thank you for your response. I am always happy to get feed back of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the area and all of what SoHo has to offer and our staff could give the great customer service you would expect.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our recent stay was lovely. The rooms are small, but so what! You are in Soho and the hotel borders Chinatown, Littly Italy and TriBeCa. Walk everywhere, Broadway is only a few blocks. The MTA is very convenient! The rate we got was exceptional for this area. Staff was helpful and easy to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Only remark could be that the room is a bit small, but quality is great!
Hotel is very good and good located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNY288, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Janet:

Thank you for yor response. We are proud that we were able to help you enjoy your experience here in New York City.

Hopefully we will see you soon

Sincerely

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the Solita. As mentioned before the outside doesnt look too promising but the lobby is bright and welcoming and the rooms are small but how long to you spend in your room when in New York?? Very comfy bed and bathrooms equipped with toiletries - all we hoped for together with extremely helpful staff - would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

With many great locations nearby, like Little Italy, Chinatown and the lower end of Broadway, you just can't go wrong with the location. Major subway stop very close, which has just 1 ride to either bus for La Guardia or Jamaica for Airtrain for JFK. Staff go the extra mile, but don't get put off by slightly drab exterior.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#261 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#259 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#308 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#160 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#245 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#154 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solita Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solita Soho Hotel

Address: 159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solita Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Solita SoHo is a boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown New York City. The hotel is just steps away from traditional New York areas such as Little Italy, Chinatown, and the famous SoHo shopping.The Solita puts you right into the heart of SoHo where you get the true New York feel with its eclectic restaurants, nightlife, museums, shopping, and culture.We invite you to try this area of New York City out with us and let us know what true New York feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Solita Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection New York City
Clarion New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solita Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.