We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunchtime stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half King

Half King
505 W. 23rd St., between 10th and 11th Aves., New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)
212/462-4300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,479 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Dunwoody, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

While working near the High Line we took a lunch break at the Half King. It looks like a burger place, but had lots of good salads, soups and veggie entrees. It was a cold and rainy day so we enjoyed warming up with soup and sandwiches. Tasty break.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great beer, interesting food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I loved the beer. Great selection. The antelope burger was so tender and juicy. Yum. Only downside is the volume level. Couldn't hear my friends even though we were shouting across the table! And it's a bit pricey.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Good food, good prices. We were in the highline and we stop here to have lunch. Great option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

drink specials, and the location is pretty good - if not very scenic (you need to make an effort to enjoy the River). A good place to meet up with friends, I'd recommend it as part 1 of a good pub crawl.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome place, love the food, atmosphere and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This place is great if you are looking for some delicious bar food, a drink or two, or three, four, five (you get the idea). It's loud and it's fun and the staff is amazing.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half King also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Half King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.