We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pursue of chocolate croissants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceci-Cela

Ceci-Cela
55 Spring St, between Lafayette and Mulberry Sts., New York City, NY 10012-5727 (Nolita)
212-274-9179
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,606 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Nolita
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The pursue of chocolate croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This small and cozy cafe will amaze you with it's bold coffee and flaky chocolate filled croissants wich I found particularly delicious. They are buttery but not greasy and sweet enough to satisfy your sweet tooth without inducing you in a sugar coma.
Pastries and lunch items all looked good. The staff is very friendly and efficient.
The place is small, but we had no problem finding seating after the lunch rush.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our waiter was fantastic and the food devine. So glad we booked here, it was a very special night. The pasta with the pear was one of the best meals I have ever had!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best croissants in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Fresh pain au chocolat or almond croissant with a doppio espresso at Ceci-Cela = HEAVEN!!! Sooo flaky, soo delicious, I wish I was having this right now!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“oh yeah!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

If a cozy and romantic Manhattan restaurant that makes you feel like you're in Paris is your goal, Ceci Cela is the place to go. As you enter this cute little hole in the wall, you are immediately confronted with a drool-worthy pastry case. The delightfully furnished eating area is in the back. When you enter this area, you are suddenly transported to the quiet and romantic side of Paris. I believe this little gem opens at 11 am and breakfast/brunchy items are available, but we were so taken by the almond croissants and peach Danishes that all other food items disappeared from our consciousness! The almond croissant doesn't look like a standard french-style croissant...they're less bouffant, but wow, are they wonderful, and truly unique! Two pastries and a cup of coffee was a great way to start our morning. The service was cordial and professional. No matter what you order to eat, a visit to Celi Cela will make you smile a lot!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Added to my list of faves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Came across this patisserie quite by accident and right when we needed a break. Great pastries, great coffee. The service wasn't top notch, but good enough. Charming decor made this a wonderful afternoon respite. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceci-Cela also viewed

 

Been to Ceci-Cela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceci-Cela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.