We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi in the Time Square area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Foo's

Ruby Foo's
1626 Broadway, 49th St., New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-489-5600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruby Foo's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,201 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 49th Street
Transit: N, R & W trains to 49th Street, 1 train to 50th Street, and A, C & E trains to 50th Street. Bus: M104
Description: Ruby Foo’s brings the bold flavors of Beijing, Bangkok and Tokyo to Times Square in a big-box setting that is as boisterous as it Broadway neighborhood. Described as “imaginative” by New York Magazine, the 300 seat space and approachable Pan-Asian cuisine is perfect for dinner pre or post show, lunch with clients, brunch with kids, private parties, and any other occasion imaginable. People watch at a Broadway-facing table over pad thai, sample some of the best rolls in the neighborhood at the 20-seat sushi bar, share assorted dim sum at a banquet and finish with a Dessert Bento Box. Tight on time? Take freshly-baked theater treats like Chocolate Chip Cookies and Caramel Popcorn to go. Or, get sushi and dim sum delivered to your door!
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in the Time Square area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went here after a Broadway show and had great food and ok service. I've been here in the past and service seems to be hit or miss, but have always enjoyed the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's in Times Square.

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the sushi and will definitely pass on your comments regarding the service.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    256
    133
    46
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have eaten at Ruby Foo's several times over the past 15 years but at a different location they used to have on the Upper West Side. This visit strengthens the notion that as a local resident never to eat out at Time Square. PF Chang's easily tops this restaurant in both service and food quality. The food was on the expensive side and wasn't all that great. The menu had very little to choose from. I clearly remember that the UWS location was much more exotic in its offerings. Service was poor. Our server was overwhelmed, forgot drinks and orders several times - just inattentive. If I could do two and a half stars I would. - just eeeh! There are much better in NYC to eat at...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I rate the chicken terriyaki, calamari, pork fried rice, salmon wasabi , and phad thai noodle 5 star! Good service n good food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

We are glad you enjoyed the chicken teriyaki, calamari, and all of your other dishes! We appreciate the wonderful feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and we wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Ruby Foo's is in the heart of Broadway. The food was outstanding, and the service was great. I had a group of 24 people including kids and the staff was terrific. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with your large group and appreciate the great feedback!

We hope you can join us again and we wish you all the best.

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ruby Foos is right across the street from the Crowne Plaza Times Square and only a block or so from Times Square. Great Asian Fusion nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. I ate a the bar and made a meal of apps. Recommend

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your previous experience and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Foo's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ruby Foo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Foo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.