We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Foo's

Ruby Foo's
1626 Broadway, 49th St., New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-489-5600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruby Foo's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,675 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 49th Street
Transit: N, R & W trains to 49th Street, 1 train to 50th Street, and A, C & E trains to 50th Street. Bus: M104
Description: Ruby Foo’s brings the bold flavors of Beijing, Bangkok and Tokyo to Times Square in a big-box setting that is as boisterous as it Broadway neighborhood. Described as “imaginative” by New York Magazine, the 300 seat space and approachable Pan-Asian cuisine is perfect for dinner pre or post show, lunch with clients, brunch with kids, private parties, and any other occasion imaginable. People watch at a Broadway-facing table over pad thai, sample some of the best rolls in the neighborhood at the 20-seat sushi bar, share assorted dim sum at a banquet and finish with a Dessert Bento Box. Tight on time? Take freshly-baked theater treats like Chocolate Chip Cookies and Caramel Popcorn to go. Or, get sushi and dim sum delivered to your door!
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ruby Foo's was a fantastic spot for dinner in Times Square. We wanted something on a larger scale, but not a typical US chain restaurant. Food arrived quickly (whether or not this was due to wanting to promptly feed their guests or they wanted a quick turnover, that remains to be seen) and it was hot. The quality and taste was great, but was definitely standard asian cuisine fare (nothing too out of the ordinary.) The only downside to Ruby Foo's was the noise level, which obviously was to be expected on a Saturday night during the dinner hour. Overall, a great experience for Times Square dining!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    175
    221
    117
    36
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Dinner with teen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

On our first night in NYC, my 16 year old son picked this restaurant and ot was great! We ordered the most expensive sushi platter and it was excellent!

We went back on night 3 since our dinner on night 2 was so bad. This time we ordered some dumplings and the shrimp coconut appetizer, along with more sushi. Again, it was excellent!

We ordered creme caramel and the salty toffee cake for our desserts. Really great!

The servers were friendly, the decor is cool, the music is a bit loud, but its upbeat. The place was always busy and seemed to have lots of reservations. There were plenty of families with younger kids too which we didnt mind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good eats in Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good food and service. We were there early evening so our food was fast and very tasty! Drinks were good and we didn't feel rushed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Reasonable choice in Times Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The selection of restaurants in Times Square isn't exactly fantastic, unless you like the mainstream American chains. That makes Ruby Foo's a pretty reasonable choice, inasmuch as the Asian fusion food is pretty reasonable (and reasonably priced). It's not too noisy, which actually makes conversation an option (not as common as you'd hope - bit of an obsession for me), and the service is attentive, pleasant, and skilled.

Food is decent quality -- not the same level of authenticity (or cheapness) you'll get in Chinatown, but a lot better than the alternatives. There's a reasonable range of drinks, although the cocktails aren't going to win any mixologist prizes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A different choice in Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not another chain place. This place is locally owned and not the same junk your can get at home. The seafood fried rice was great and next time I will add the butter poached lobster. Choosing between the pork belly and pork bao was tough but I don't think I could have lost either way. Their signature cocktail the Ruby Foo was also delicious on a hot summer night. Will definitely check this place out next time I'm in the city. Oh, and my server was wonderful too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Foo's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ruby Foo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Foo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.