We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MarkJoseph Steakhouse

MarkJoseph Steakhouse
261 Water Street, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)
212-277-0020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MarkJoseph Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #517 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Peck Slip
Transit: Subway Lines 2,3 stop at Fulton Street/William Street at Fulton Street Station.; Subway Lines A,C stop at Broadway/Nassau at Fulton Street Station.; Subway Line E stops at Chambers Street.; Subway Lines 4,5,6 stop at City Hall/Brooklyn Bridge or Broadway/Nassau at Fulton Street Station.
Description: MarkJoseph Steakhouse has been serving the best USDA Prime Dry Aged Porterhouse in New York City since 2000. Raising the bar of excellence for authentic New York City Steakhouses, MarkJoseph Steakhouse combines excellent food and polished service all in a comfortable atmosphere. Dining at MarkJosph Steakhouse you will find that your entrees are consistently prepared exactly how you like them! Porterhouse always arrives to your table sizzling and prepared to perfection. With a Zagat food rating of 24 even the most prestigious palate will be delighted. Voted #1 Rated Steakhouse in Manhattan in 2005 and 2007.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our dinner was superb. The service was attentive without being intrusive. The steaks were cooked exactly as ordered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are downtown in the South Street seaport area, this is the place for lunch. While typically priced for a steak restaurant, the food was prepared impeccably, and the service was similarly just right. While I have as of yet not tried dinner, I am confident it will be similarly memorable.
The steak sandwich was delectable, as was the hamburger , both cooked to perfection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Expectations are a part of life. Despite believing I go without them, it is sometimes proven to me that I do, in fact, have expectations. Expectations can lead to disappointment, as in this case.
Michael, our waiter, strived to do well. He succeeded in personality, attentiveness, the things we grow to appreciate. His staff, however, failed him in engaging in vulgar dialog and profanity in the bar area where we could hear them, in the management decision to play AC/DC in the bar and have it spill out into the dining room, in the cold bread that was brought to the table with the cold butter, and so on. ..
The food arrived properly prepared, problem is they're serving choice beef for prime prices... nice try boys.
Came to play ball, didn't bring their gloves.
Posers? Probably not. I'm thinking they just haven't the sense to shop their competition, or understand it.
We won't bother to go back. You shouldn't bother to go to begin with.
Sorry gang. It's called a restaurant scene for a reason. This place is not notable. Stand out, or be left unnoticed. It wasn't bad by any means. It just didn't stand out in a town with thousands of choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Empty restaurant and service can be better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

When we arrived at this restaurant, it turned out we were the only guests in the dining area. It was a Monday night and raining, but I still expected a bit more buzz. There were a few people eating at the bar and watching Telly, but thanks to a glass wall, you did not hear the noise. Although we were the only guests, I was not impressed by the waiter, who was not very welcoming. The portions were very big, but did not stand out by the quality, i.e. both the penne and the baked potatoes could have done with a couple of minutes less in the oven/frying pan. The sauce served with the calamari was however outstanding. Restaurant not easy to find due to construction, but not sure if it is indeed the must-go place at South Seaport. There are better places, with a livelier crowd and more welcoming staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This restaurant is located on Water Street, in South Street Seaport with friends. It is great to see the area is coming back after "Hurricane Sandy." The restaurant has the typical steak house feel and look. The staff was patient and attentive. The food smelled wonderful. The special-pepper corn steak with demi glaze sauce just melted in your mouth. The mixed green salad, was like every other mixed green salad. Their serving of mussels are a generous amount. And everyone at the table enjoyed their deserts. Again, good service and good food. You will pay a very good price. This steak I thought was better then Peter Luger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MarkJoseph Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to MarkJoseph Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MarkJoseph Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.