We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for Great BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Smoke

Blue Smoke
116 E 27th Street, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10016
212-447-6058
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Smoke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #423 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Park and Lexington
Transit: Subway line: 6 to 28th Street and Park Avenue South
Description: Jazz Standard offers guests a wide variety of world class jazz complemented by Blue Smoke barbecue in an intimate room with great sightlines and sound.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best value for Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The food is excellent, the staff is friendly and efficient. Great value for money. This is our go to place for BBQ.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    350
    125
    31
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Surprisingly not as good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a great experience the first time dining, but when we returned, the food was not as good as the first time. It was satisfactory, just not the quality of taste I was expecting.

The service was also extremely slow. We also heard a person at another table saying that his beer was taking a long time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We waited for about 20 minutes for a table because the place was so busy so managed to get a spot by the bar and have a drink. The BBQ ribs and wings were amazing. A massive serve. We finished off with banana cream pie and lime pie. Definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great atmosphere and really great welcome for the kids. Activities and cookie decoration was superb.

Without a doubt there is probably better food around. But overall it was good quality, combined with a great kids proposition and superb atmosphere.

Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food and jazz...doesn't get much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Loved this place. We got some stools at the bar. Had great food and lovely wine. Really chilled night with my friend. The barman gave a great recommendation on the American wine which despite my reservations was amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Smoke also viewed

 

Been to Blue Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Smoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.