We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty ribs and refreshing beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Smoke

Blue Smoke
116 E 27th Street, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10016
212-447-6058
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Smoke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #551 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Park and Lexington
Transit: Subway line: 6 to 28th Street and Park Avenue South
Description: Jazz Standard offers guests a wide variety of world class jazz complemented by Blue Smoke barbecue in an intimate room with great sightlines and sound.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty ribs and refreshing beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The restaurant has a loud and a very positive and inviting atmosphere. We arrived late, but this was no trouble. The food, trio of ribs, fries, and roasted chicken were of high quality and very tasty. The salad as a side order was minuscule. But this was made up for by the excellent choice of beers, we'll served.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    318
    112
    30
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Went to NYC and ended up eating at Blue Smoke, Amazing !!! highly recommend the fried bread with toffee dipping sauce it will blow your mind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wanted to go for ages and was not disappointed - slightly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Loved this place! Why have we not come before is all I can say!

The food is delicious and the atmosphere fun. They are very kid friendly too, making a fuss of the little one that was greatly appreciated.

If you have not been before, try the Rhapsody In 'Cue. Great sampler plate! Plus the Mac'n'Cheese. And the pies for desert - where do you start, we tried them all! Come hungry though is my advice.

Book to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My girlfriend and I went to Blue Smoke due to the reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were amazed with the standard of the food. We have had BBQ before, but this is some of the best.

We both got the Baby Back Ribs/six pieces each) with macaroni and cheese and sweet potato wedges and it was so good. The ribs was tasteful and delicious made, while the side orders was just a bonus. We were there for the BBQ, and we did not leave sad or hungry.

Service is good and quick, and they have a smile on their lips. The surroundings are nice, compared to other BBQ places we have tried in NYC, so this came as a big surprise.

In short, we were so happy we went here and we are so glad that the reviews here on Tripadvisor led us there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic barbecue in a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I hail from a state where the barbecue is legendary, so I wondered what it would be like in a big Northern city. Not to worry. My meal here was wonderful. I ordered the pulled pork with beans and coleslaw, and my friend ordered the beef brisket with mashed potatoes. The meat was melt-in-your-mouth tender, moist and delicious. The sides were fresh and flavorful. Our server was kind and attentive, and the place had a lively atmosphere that lifted our spirits after a long, tiring day of sightseeing. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Smoke also viewed

 

Been to Blue Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Smoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.