We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down and Dirty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Smoke

Blue Smoke
116 E 27th Street, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10016
212-447-6058
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Smoke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #547 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Park and Lexington
Transit: Subway line: 6 to 28th Street and Park Avenue South
Description: Jazz Standard offers guests a wide variety of world class jazz complemented by Blue Smoke barbecue in an intimate room with great sightlines and sound.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
651 reviews 651 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
1,696 helpful votes 1,696 helpful votes
“Down and Dirty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I went with friends to Blue Smoke for dinner. I had the barbecued chicken and a beer. both good. We all were in the mood for a tasty, and messy meal. That's what we got. Fun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    318
    112
    30
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the outside seating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great food-consistant! Server was friendly and very attentive. The USA soccer game was on inside but also at the bar across the street-we totally enjoyed listening to it from the bar and people watching the crowd...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Southern BBQ in NY? Yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I've lived in the South my entire life, so I KNOW my barbecue. I was wary but I love all of Danny Meyer's other restaurants, so we thought we'd give it a try and we were pleasantly surprised! As with all of Meyer's restaurants, the staff were incredible -- well-versed on the menu, warm and down to earth. Standout dishes: the blue cheese dip with bbq chips, chopped pork plate and the ribs sampler.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Over the Blue moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Recommended by two different friends who had been in the past...good taste. Service swift but not pushy, friendly and efficient. We all enjoyed our food, starters and mains. I was only one for desert...very lovely 'limey' key lime pie. Excellent value all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Ribs, Great Ambience, Great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My family all love American BBQ food, especially after a 2 week holiday in the Deep South in 2013, so we booked BlueSmoke during a 3 day short break in NYC in June 2014. We chose BlueSmoke mainly because of the ratings on TripAdvisor and it certainly lived up to the praise. We all had the Memphis baby back ribs and they were superb - amazingly tender and great taste. The BlueSmoke ale was excellent too. Altogether a great meal and I strongly recommend BlueSmoke.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Smoke also viewed

 

Been to Blue Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Smoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.