We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip It!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roxy Delicatessen - CLOSED

Roxy Delicatessen
1565 Broadway, New York City, NY 10036-1517 (Midtown)
212-921-3333
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Tampa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Skip It!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Unless this is on some weird must-do list I would skip it! We ate he as our very first NYC restaurant. We had just arrived, were staying at the Marriott Marquis and we were famished. Although the restaurant was on Times Square you cannot see any of the action from inside. We sat upstairs, near the bathroom, gross! Food was average but not worth the price. And skip the bathroom! An alley would be cleaner!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    109
    102
    92
    174
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better delis elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Roxy Deli is right in Timesquare which makes it busy but necessarily good. The pastrami sandwich is fair and the matzoh ball soup just OK. I much prefer Carnagie Deli just a few blocks away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Thats A Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ok here we go now this place knows how to do a sandwich. You could feed your whole family on the meat that goes on one sandwich and thats no stretch!!! I had the Turkey sandwhich yes that was the best ever!!! I rolled out of there. Great atmosphere great experience a real NY deli Sandwich true to form this is a must eat!!! I wont even talk about the cheesecake its as Guy puts it off the charts!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good service but the food was just "ok". Can't get our of the deli for less than $80.00 for breakfast.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home of the double decker sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I highly recommend sharing one of the double decker sandwiches! While they are pricey (the chicken salad double decker was $24 but the cost to split is only $7) they are HUGE!! I took half my sandwich back to the hotel and split the half with a friend later that evening. Very yummy!! I may have to stop back in for a dessert! They looked really good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roxy Delicatessen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxy Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.