We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, stylish room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Times Square New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Times Square New York to your Saves list
Hyatt Times Square New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Suite Deal
Ranked #57 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, stylish room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The Hyatt Times Square is a great hotel. It has a prime location right in the midst of the action yet the rooms offered a peaceful respite from the city. My room was a standard double but I felt it was spacious for NY standards. The decor and fixtures felt fresh, clean and new.

The room service from the T45 restaurant was of an exceptional standard. I ordered the portobello mushroom sandwich and it was easily the best room service meal I've had in years.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Han230,

Thank you very much for staying with us and I hope your trip home was uneventful! Really pleased to hear you liked the room, I to love the fact that on average our rooms are just a little larger than the competition.

I am also really pleased to hear that the kitchen out did themselves on the sandwich! I will be sure to try it,
all the best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    205
    39
    9
    8
See reviews for
196
189
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hi everyone, I stayed at the Hyatt Time Square in June and the location was perfect, steps away from Time Square, the rooms were awesome ( a bit small but that is normal for hotels in that location) and the staff was very friendly especially Karen at the front desk who checked us in. I mentioned to her that we were expecting our 1st and by the time we got to our room there was a beautiful card and a gift from the staff congratulating us. It was such a thoughtful gesture. I would recommend this hotel to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if available for a awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I really enjoyed my quick stay at this hotel. My wife and I were in town for two days/one night for our 14th anniversary and the hotel was really one of the highlights of our trip. Our room had a modern look and feel but was very comfortable. The space and design were well thought out and the floor to ceiling windows really enhance the great view of the NYC skyline. We didn't come to New York City (particularly Times Square) looking for peace an quiet but the noise was not a concern (we were on the 47th floor). We didn't interact with the hotel staff much just because we didn't need to but they seemed very accommodating and I got the sense they were a fun group who enjoyed working together.

If you're looking for a great place to stay in the general area of Times Square, you can't go wrong with the Hyatt. If you want to spend another $50 to $100 a night you might get fancier drapes but I don't think you'll get a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Brent,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and I am thrilled you chose to spend it with us. We are humbled by the high praise you have shared and I am glad you felt the "fun" vibe, it’s nice when our culture and ethos shows through.

Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back for your 15th anniversary!

All the very best to you both,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and 7yr old daughter recently stayed at the Hyatt in a Times Square. It was just perfect. Very sleek and clean. A contemporary vibe. The check in process was quick and efficient. We used the valet service to park our car for the weekend. It was smooth and efficient. Karen checked us in. She was very friendly and polite. My daughter told her it was her first visit to NYC. Karen then upgraded our room without us asking to a one bedroom suite and moved us to a higher floor. How nice was that, huh?

The check in process was a bit funky in that the person who checks you in, also takes your bags to your room. I guess it's a single point of service. It worked for us, but I can see where bottlenecks could occur at busier times.

The lobby is small, but we didn't need to or want to hang there, so it didn't matter.

The room was very clean. Beds were large, fluffy, and extremely comfortable. Noise level was low. Nice TVs. Great showers. Well run and evenly controlled AC. No complaints at all.

The location was amazing. Steps from Time Square. We could walk everywhere....Toys R Us for the Ferris wheel, M&MS store, Hershey Store. Broadway theaters, fine resteraunts, etc. We also walked only a few blocks to St. Patricks Cathedral, Rockafeller Center, and the American Girl Store. We took a longer, but very doable walk, to Central Park.


I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Pinkypopo (best screen name of the day)

We are really pleased you chose us and thrilled that you had such a great time! I will give Karen a high five for a job well done; fingers crossed we have made a life longer Hyatt fan out of your daughter.

All the best and we hope to see you again soon,

Best regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is in a good location; the rooms are decent sized. However; this hotel's major issue is incompetent staff. It is highly disorganized right from check-in. There is no properly formed line at the reception and it is a total chaos and waste of time waiting for check-in.
The worst part of my experience was when I was trying to locate an item that I left in the room after check-out. I called the hotel 2 hours after check-out and let them know that I left a pair of jeans in the closet. Again, the way they dealt with it was a total chaos; they didn't know who to call; didn't return my calls. I decided to go to the hotel to talk to the housekeeping manager and at that point I understood that this hotel has no way of dealing with something as basic as lost & found. Either their housekeepers don't return found items in the room; or the management has no way of tracking them. Either way it is a shame for a Hyatt. Had gone through similar incidents in the past with other major chains and never had an issue finding the item (and most of the time it was shipped to me in no time!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear NirajdBoston,

Greetings and thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sincerely sorry for the troubles you experienced; entirely our fault and again I apologize. As you saw our lobby is small and there really is no room for a queue to form but we do try hard to help people as quickly as possible but clearly we failed in this instance.

More importantly I am sorry about the pair of jeans! We have dozens of items turned in daily and a manager diligently logs them so I was very concerned to hear that we didn’t even seem to be able to give you a good answer about your missing item. If you would like to discuss further please don’t hesitate to call the hotel and ask for me in person; there are two Ryan's on our team and my title is Director of Rooms; just to avoid confusion.

I apologize again and am hopeful we might be able to speak in person and investigate the lost and found further.

Best regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc Rodman
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Now, I live in CT but work in NYC every week. I usually stay at Marriott as a platinum member but decided to switch things up a bit and stay here. Like all my reviews, I'm very picky.

Here is what I need:
Great AC-check
Great bed-check
Large room-check
Friendly staff-check check check

From Chester and Luis upfront managing your first expectations upon arrival to the front desk.

But the best and one that got me hooked is Karen the Sales Manager. Man, what a special person and like no one in the hotel business that I ever encountered. She helped me with getting a preferred price for my weekly visit, left a beautiful card and brownies in my room and upgraded me on my consecutive visits. What a women. Great person and true professional.

This terrace room with balcony is awesome. The suites are huge and new and the restaurant is awesome.

So, make the switch here and enjoy the comforts of home with an amazingly caring and talented staff who all love their jobs.

Hope Hyatt is reading this and passes this around the team. Love them.

Marc Rodman

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The lobby is extremely minimal, so, if you are looking for a grand NYC lobby, this is not the place for you. Check in was extremely fast, courteous and professional. The room was large by NYC standards, approx. 350 sq feet. The roof top bar, Bar 54 was amazing. The views, the service, the cockatails all good. I do not understand why people are complaining about the overpriced drinks, the prices are perfectly in line with NYC bar prices, especially considering the view.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't really care about this issue. I think the hotels just post this to help reassure the guests.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Times Square New York

Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Times Square New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.