We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent decor, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schiller's Liquor Bar

Schiller's Liquor Bar
131 Rivington St, New York City, NY 10002-2402 (Lower East Side)
(212) 260-4555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Schiller's Liquor Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,183 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: Norfolk
Transit: Take the 'F' train to Delancey Street, J,M to Essex or B,D to Grand.
Windsor UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent decor, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

In my opinion this is a place to have a drink (or more) and maybe share some nachos, but the burger I had was overdone and dry and the fries weren't up to scratch. However we vey much enjoyed the wine, atmosphere and decor!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    86
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We are often in NYC, and we never miss having dinner at Schiller's. The ambience is fun and the food is always spectacular. Don't miss the nachos (with an Italian angle), chicken paillard, and the steaks are incredible.

The best part, though, is the knowledgeable waitstaff and the always smiling welcome from Rich, the Manager.

We used to frequent Schiller's sister restaurant, Balthazar, but stopped going after some unfortunate service issues (does it really take three tries to get eggs cooked properly?)

Now it's Schiller's all the way!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What is the fuss about?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Really, I went here with 6 friends after read a favorable article, and this is what it is:
Cool way of serving wine (cheap, decent, good choice) and thats where the "coolness" ends. I ordered the worst hamburger I ever had and the volume is really high so if you want to talk to your friends over a good dinner, please avoid!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Aging...but still decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I la la LOVED Schiller's when it opened back in 2003-- fabulous (if uninventive) food at a great price point in a cool, hip space. On a recent visit, however, I was somewhat underwhelmed. I'm not sure if Schiller's food quality has declined, or if my foodie palette has grown more discerning, but I merely LIKED it this time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great cocktails, great atmosphere, the service is always good, and the food is not bad. I go all the time. A favorite place to go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schiller's Liquor Bar also viewed

 

Been to Schiller's Liquor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schiller's Liquor Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.