We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mono

Casa Mono
52 Irving Pl, New York City, NY 10003-2306 (Gramercy Park)
(212) 253-2773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa Mono is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,460 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gramercy Park
Cross street: 17th Street
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, Q, R, W and L trains to 14th Street/Union Square.
Description: Casa Mono features raciones of Catalan specialties and serves dishes from all corners of Spain. It was awarded 2 stars from the New York Times shortly after its opening and was the highest rated Spanish restaurant in the 2006 and 2007 editions of Zagat. Casa Mono boasts a wine list of nearly 600 wines, representing all that is of quality in the rapidly expanding world of Spanish Wine. Our wine list was awarded the Wine Enthusiast Magazine Award of Unique Distinction in 2007, and has earned The Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for 2005 through 2007. It was recently awarded with The Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence for 2008, as well as being rated 9.5 out of 10 in the Spanish wine magazine Sibaritas.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

You corner place but with above average food quality. Service was solid...if anything it was a bit crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    114
    29
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Outstanding tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had dinner here while in town for 4th of July and loved every single dish we had! It's tapas style so expect smaller portions and sharing (which is what tapas is all about). Our favourites were: Blackened Beets, Mussels with chorizo, Goat confit, Oxtail stuffed peppers. The vibe of the restaurants and the service was great too.

Make sure you book a reservation as this place is small and gets busy. Overall, we've eaten at a lot of tapas places before and this one is definitely one of the best! Not surprised it has a Michelin Star. We loved it and would come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Got there late but still had to wait a while at Bar Jamon around the corner. Small, a bit crowded, but excellent atmosphere. Amazing tapas, the best of all being duck egg, pancetta and generous truffle slices. Pricy wine list, go for beer or drinks instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The tables are not all that small considering it is a tapas bar. We didn't find the portions too small at all for tapas. And the complaint about the tables being too low -- yeah, they're a little low, but I am well over 6'in height and I managed to get my legs under the table without squeezing. Now if I had to make an issue about the tables it would be that in warm weather they open the place up and the two chairs on the window side of our table had back legs about an inch from the edge of the floor -- push your seat back unthinkingly and you'll go flying backwards and crack the back of your head on the sidewalk!
The staff is busy/brisk but cordial -- again, entirely appropriate (to my mind, anyway) with a tapas bar. The food was very diverse, from pumpkin croquettes with goat cheese inside, to a very rich lab ragout, to sauteed octopus, to wonderful asparagus salad -- all done inventively. Prices are a bit high but the quality is there. They have a knockout Spanish-only wine list that is also a little bit aggressively priced (probably 2.5x-3x) -- but there are a lot of hard to find selections, so again, the premium is there for a reason.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favorite tapas bar in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went straight for the jamon iberico.. theres only a handful of places in the city that make and prepare it the right way, and CM is definitely one of those places. The staff is definitely very polite and helpful, and are happy to make suggestions in case the menu seems a bit intimidating. I can only speak for the items I ordered, so outside of the jamon iberico, definitely give the croquetas a try.. the fideos with chorizo and clams, skirt steak, etc. They will recommend a good wine or drink with anything you order :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mono also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Casa Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.