We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fish little to no seating area! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Salt and Battery

A Salt and Battery
112 Greenwich Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)
(212) 691-2713
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,635 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: English, Irish, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious fish little to no seating area! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The fish is delicious, a large portion of fish, onion rings and 2 sodas came out to about $20. Fyi a typical NY food eatery, the only seating available is lining the Window and short wall. The food is best enjoyed to go or during a slow time where seating is available. The staff was very friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    26
    26
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Colonial past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic cheap and cheerful chips in paper. Good quality produce, reasonably priced, and served with a smile and a poppy for rememberance day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Have heard about this place over and over so was very excited,
When we got there the guy behind the counter did not listen to our order properly and was in no way helpful

Overall the food was ok, chips were cold and batter came of fish once touched, they forgot to give us tartare sauce and when we got it the little containers wer only 1/5 filled, OVER PRICED

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We Went to Salt & Battery after reading about the new Place from one of Our Online info Pages,, it sounded just Like a real London Fish & Chips Place and we really Like that,,
The Selection of Fish Is Nice, and we ordered 2 Large Whiting Orders with chips,, We were hoping to eat in, But it was not to be,
the place is small and if 3 people are inside the rest have to stand Outside,,
The Fish & Chips are good, The fish is just a Little Bland, and the chips are a Lot better than you might expect,,
The cooking of the fish is done with clean Oil, and I say this because when I grew Up in Harlem,, If a Fish & Chips stand change their Oil once a year, It would soon be out of Business,,
There was a Fish & Chips stand on 115 street & 8th Ave. when I grew up that had a sign on the door that claim the Last time the oil was change was On V-J Day,,,
and the Line in front of the stand was 2 Blocks Long,,,,
Salt & Battery is O.K.,, If that is what you like,,,

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The real deal...without the grease”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

An excellent meal ( haddock and chiops) cooked to order in this very humble chippy.Few places to sit but the food was cooked to perfection and without the grease filling that often happens in US (and UK) restaurants.Slightly frustarting wait , but acceptable as was cooked fresh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Salt and Battery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to A Salt and Battery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Salt and Battery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.