We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish n Chips - just like back home in Blighty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Salt and Battery

A Salt and Battery
112 Greenwich Ave, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)
(212) 691-2713
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,627 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: English, Irish, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Toulon, France
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Fish n Chips - just like back home in Blighty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Right near Jackson Square, is an oasis away from dogs and fries, ribs and all the waistline busting stuff of the Big Apple.

If you do come to find this brill wee chippy - I recommend the Pollok with chips and wait for it - battered beets - now there's a thing of considerable beauty :)

If you want to watch someone perform CPR on your clammy body (let's hope never EVER) the deep fried Toffee Crisp is to die for. (Pun fully intended). Once won't harm you, I suppose.

All in all, just tickety boo. Who would have thought such a stellar place - or is that plaice(!?) could prosper out here amongst the heaving mass that is Noo Yoik? But it does and it's very, very good. Good on ya mate!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Chippie in North America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We love this place. We go there every time we are in New York to get our fill of proper Fish and Chips. None of your skinny french fries here, just real proper Chips courtesy of some amazing frying skills.

One portion of Chips is more than enough for two people and one day I will summon up the courage and the hunger to try "The Fat B@stard" challenge!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips with a UK flavor. A must stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a great lunch time treat here. The fish was fresh from the morning market and fried to perfection. I thought the fish was great, until I tried the shrimp. The shrimp was absolutely fantastic. Yes the fish was great also. The shrimp was large was wow flavor. The traditional chips finished off the meal. You've got to try their UK candy shop next door for dessert. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips in the heart of NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's hard enough to get good fish and chips in the UK - not enough people speciaise in it any more. So it's great to find a top quality fish and chip shop in New York. The people running it are great - from Blackburn Lancashire and really friendly - and the menu is classic fish and chip shop (though it's a bit more expensive than it would be - but this is Manhattan...).

It's next door to another shop run by Brits selling British stuff (and that also has an English tea shop/cafe) - so it's a bit of a British/English enclave.

But the main point it - the meal was absolutely delicious - to notch fish and chips, which everyone loves (and nice to see Americans enjoying this British speciality..)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Mushy peas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really good, authentic fish and chips, and they even have mushy peas! If you've never had them, get them. I've been here several times now and it's always been very good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Salt and Battery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to A Salt and Battery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Salt and Battery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.