We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All too much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice's Tea Cup

Alice's Tea Cup
102 West 73rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)
(212) 799-3006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #590 of 11,597 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Diner, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All too much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

After a rain soaked walk from the museum of Natural History we dropped in on this tea shop ( based on Trip Advisor recommendations). Obviously very popular because we hadn't booked and faced a 25 minute wait, albeit in a seated area with reading material. Worth the wait though:
- polite and enthusiatic staff proving quick, efficient and attentive service
- nice ambience with plenty of space
- had the afternoon tea for two. Some of the best sandwiches and scones I have eaten. Scones were massive. With 2 really well filled sandwiches, 3 scones, 6 cookies and a chocolate mousse, all to be washed down with two pots of tea (each tea pot delivering 5 cups), we were defeated with 2 scones and most of the cookies left!
- These were happily boxed for us to take away and the waitress even provided an additional scone

Our opinion was it beat Claridges in London

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    117
    89
    25
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

food was wonderful, service great! menu choices fantastic, service wonderful, everything was fantastic!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Scones & Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I visited the original Alice's Tea Cup, Chapter I on 102 West 73rd st. with my husband. I LOVED the shop..very charming and excellent breakfast. The service is a little on the slow side because there were not very many servers when we were there, so don't go there if you are in a hurry to start your day. The tea is wonderful and they bring you a pot of it to enjoy with your breakfast. The scones are very delicious and homemade each day. Highly recommend breakfast here!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fun, Innovative, and Playful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Who doesn't love Alice in Wonderland? This was the perfect spot for an intimate and charming bridal shower for close friends and family. The room was just the right size for 13 guests. The extensive variety of teas brought to the table were aromatic and delicious. The tea sandwiches were fresh and creative to fit every taste bud . The china and teapots were eclectic and reminded me of my mom's growing up. It all just came together in the most delightful way just as Julie Andrews sang. I couldn't say enough good things about the staff and their excellent, attentive service. Oh did I mention the phenomenal scones and other bakery treats? Every bite was sinful. Abundance and variety to say the least. The decor was very intriguing as well - with hand paintings and writings on every wall, storybooks on shelves and a little store up front which sold all the relative trinkets, teas and bakery items. The only critical thing I could say is that there is only one restroom for the entire restaurant and there are 4 steps to get into the place which isn't handicap accessible. Otherwise, this was quite a nice experience. It's also great for children's parties and the young at heart.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Happened to find this great tea house and just loved it! Our girls were greeted with a sprinkling of fairy dust and then we went back to our tea in the cozy atmosphere of Alice's hideaway. Creative, eclectic decor and fresh, delicious food! Tea menu is extensive, our choice was a breakfast blend to share with our girls. Highly recommend with or without children.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Tea Cup also viewed

 

Been to Alice's Tea Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice's Tea Cup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.