We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice's Tea Cup

Alice's Tea Cup
102 West 73rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)
(212) 799-3006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 446 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Happened to find this great tea house and just loved it! Our girls were greeted with a sprinkling of fairy dust and then we went back to our tea in the cozy atmosphere of Alice's hideaway. Creative, eclectic decor and fresh, delicious food! Tea menu is extensive, our choice was a breakfast blend to share with our girls. Highly recommend with or without children.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    112
    31
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun spot for tea & bfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice now. Great fun tea & awesome scones. Get a scone, egg & tea - perfect & not too spendy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best scones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved our visit to Alice's Tea Cup. Very relaxed atmosphere. Unbelievable scones with clotted cream and jam. The two scones and pot of tea for $12 was well worth it. Upon entry they dusted my 7-year old with fairy dust (at our request) and she glittered all day. Great way to spend our first morning in NYC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Love the menu and tea choice . . . but . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is so totally my cup of tea. The menu is a total pleasure: I especially like the nice sandwiches (most recently, ham and gruyere on soft bread w/raisins = delish. Our entire family is very tea-oriented, even our two small kids. So why only a middling review? Because on our last visit the service was so needlessly, torturously slow that I wanted to stick a fork in my eye! The place was far from full. We waited 20 minutes for a table to be got ready (even tho several were empty and remained empty after our arrival). Another 15 minutes to have our order taken. . . . Watched other groups arrive and get served in the meanwhile . . . 45 minutes in, we finally got a pot of tea . . . holy moly people! We had to practically strap our kids into their seats, because they got so restive. We are smiling and friendly people, ourselves. And, if anything, sometimes overly polite in public situations, but: When our little son lifted the lid of one of the teapots for sale in the front, a peevish managerial sort working at the front snapped in a not-nice tone: "You break it, you buy it!!!" (Well, yes, of course! That's certainly understood!) For a restaurant that positions itself as kid-friendly and kid-approved -- with their fairy wings, etc -- this was a "yikes!" and "yow!" moment. I mean, we've been to tea at the Connaught in London with our kids -- and they have perfectly nice manners, for small children -- and they use a tea pot every day of their lives . . . and, well, you know what? You probably shouldn't be so quick to snap at customers, Alice's Tea Cup. (I'm sure sometimes kids rampage thru and get out of hand, but this was not at all the case here.) And if you need to step in and remind parents of the rules -- which, really? do you? -- you should find a way to do it without the judgmental tone. PS: Also, I like mismatched china and old things, and the whole "tea party at grannie's" atmosphere, but things are looking slightly too careworn and shabby in Chapter One right now.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“More than a coffee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast here on a very wet day arrived early so were seated with no problems. My daughter had pink fairy wings which kept her entertained. Scones were fab. Freshly baked and melted in your mouth. My husband granola was amazing lots of fresh fruit and very tasty. Lovely atmosphere and very similar to serendipity but better priced. Cant wait to try one of the other two in the city. Great location for visiting Natural History Museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Tea Cup also viewed

 

Been to Alice's Tea Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice's Tea Cup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.