We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insanely busy but good food/portions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo's of Mulberry Street

Angelo's of Mulberry Street
146 Mulberry St Ste 1, New York City, NY 10013-4708 (Little Italy)
(212) 966-1277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,041 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Insanely busy but good food/portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not so great start: we made a reservation four weeks in advance and confirmed it the week of but were told there wasn't a table when we arrived. After waiting 15 minutes they found us a table in the back corner (felt like a closet but hey, who cares, right?) The portions were massive, good selection of wine. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone going, but if you want something more quiet and romantic, try elsewhere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    100
    32
    22
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in the oldest restaurant in Little Italy, NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful dinner at Angelo's. The antipaso was great and we enjoyed all the other dishes as well. This restaurant has been in existence since 1902, which certainly speaks well of it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The restaurant you always come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for over 30 years. May be that I should change, but it is difficult to find other restaurant with the quality of the food and "Italian touch service".
Angel hair pasta is a must and any of the veal courses is perfect. Watch out for big portion sizes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Forgettable...don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband, 2 kids, and I went to Angelo's on Friday night. I had narrowed it down between Angelo's and Pellegrino's. We were seated in the back of the restaurant and were jammed in between two tables. I ordered the canneloni with spinach and meat. It tasted like Chef Boyardee ravioli from a can. The canneloni's were about 3/4 inch thick and looked like pancakes compared to the stuffed canneloni's that I was hoping to get. My kids ordered the chicken parm to share, and we were surprised that it didn't come with spaghetti. So, we ordered a half order of spaghetti for them to eat along with the chicken parm. The half order of spaghetti consisted of a small bowl of noodles and a tiny dish of sauce. We were charged $11 for that! The veal parm was dry and overcooked and served with an unknown green vegetable and a potato croquet. All were terrible. The waiter wasn't interested in us and looked like he didn't want to be bothered.

On a positive note, after dinner, we really wanted an Italian dessert. We found Caffe Palermo right next door to Angelo's on Mulberry. It was fantastic. The cannnoli's were wonderful! No wonder it was voted best cannoli's in Little Italy! We had 3 cannoli's and a napolean. It was great!

Skip Angelo's, and go for the cannoli's!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude, inconsiderate, poorly managed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We made reservations at Angelo's for a party of 4 a week in advance and they just took our name, time and party size and hung up the phone. When we showed up to the pretty crowded entrance of people waiting to be seated (some without reservations), we sent one of the gentlemen to the front to check in as we were right on time. He was told he didn't have a reservation at all and shooed away and ignored. We sent the Italian member of our group up who speaks Italian and he was immediately acknowledged by the host in Italian. After a bit of Italian, the host asked us to hold on just one second. He turned back and said we were all set, just which reservation should he cross off. Somehow on the loose leaf piece of paper, our name wasn't listed, so he said it didn't seem to be on there. We produced the phone record showing our call to the restaurant and they wouldn't even look at the phone, fully knowing it was their fault. The host tried to tell us he didn't work on Mondays (the night he assumed we called which was actually a Tuesday so he had been there). The host was rude and not at all considerate at even offering to have us wait or to see what he could do. Instead, he turned to us and said, "what do you expect me do, I have all these people" and would not speak to us again. The place was completely crowded and poorly managed and we were happy not to be rushed and crammed through dinner. We will never return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo's of Mulberry Street also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Angelo's of Mulberry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo's of Mulberry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.