We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome Cheap Eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bereket Turkish Kebab House

Bereket Turkish Kebab House
187 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10002-1051 (Lower East Side)
212-475-7700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,206 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Tulsa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wholesome Cheap Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Fast food can be good food. This is the sort of döner kebab shop that you find all over Germany. The Bereket compares well with kebab places in Berlin. The falafel was crispy and the salad fresh—and the whole nosh came to under $10.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprise discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Situated at the 'other' corner of Katz's, we only came because Katz's was so full.
A very pleasant surprise.
We had the grilled Chicken & mixed Grill plates. Both came with traditional salad and rice. Rice pudding with cinnamon and Turkish coffee afterwards. All was excellent.
The food took a bit long and there is no atmosphere to speak of. However, purely on food this a great place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Best stuffed grape leaves in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This place is one of the cheapest, and best, restaurants in Manhattan.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best dolma's ever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

I have been to Isreal and have eaten damn good dolma's but the ones at Bereket are the best. Every time I land in New York the first place I go to eat is Bereket. They are open 24/7 which is awesome. The kabobs are fresh and the food just delicious. The prices are dirt cheap so what more could you ask for. It's set up like a fast food joint. So don't expect nuthin other then fantastic food. I love this place and now it's a NY tradition for me.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight Down in the LES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

On the corner of Houston and good ol' Orchard Street. I hung out at this place after midnight back in the mid-90's when it first opened and now I no longer live in NY but I make it a point to visit every time I come back down. Awesome Lentil soup! Great Lamajun! Grilled Kofte is excellent as well. Rice Pudding and succulent Baklava make a perfect wrap up. The winter time always was tough to eat-in though-- the door always would open and allow wintry snow devils to waft in. That hasn't really changed, but still, superior fare, reasonably priced and always consistent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bereket Turkish Kebab House also viewed

 

Been to Bereket Turkish Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bereket Turkish Kebab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.