We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Nick's Burger Joint & Pizza Joint - CLOSED

Big Nick's Burger Joint & Pizza Joint
2175 Broadway, New York City, NY 10024-6603
(212) 362-9238
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Derby, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place was recommended to us by my son, who had visited it last year. If it hadn't been for his recommendation we would have probably carried walking straight on past it as it doesn't look much from the outside. To be honest once we got inside it wasn't what I was expecting - there is not much room and it all looks a bit grubby, but that all gives it a unique charm - it definitely doesn't look like any of the food chain establishments that are all much the same. The
breakfast we had was excellent and very well priced. If you fancy a proper American diner give this place a try

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    127
    43
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This place has to be seen to be believed. Food is amazing for what it is, amazing burgers, fries, sides etc... Total hole in the wall but campy and comfortable. We oder in from here all the time. Go check it out if you're in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“What an experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Well, this place is worth a trip just for the experience. We were in NYC in October and visited here 3 times, twice for breakfast and once for a late dinner.
The breakfasts were really nice and really cheap as well considering it's NYC. Good portion sizes too.
The actual restaurant and staff are something I've never come across before. For a start, the place is chaotic - but this isn't a bad thing. It's quite fun and the mix of people in there as staff and customers are fascinating. The older waitress with the foreign accent (sorry to be so vague but really can't remember her name) is quite the character! Lovely though.
This would have been a 4 or 5* review but... our last visit here was for dinner one night at around 10pm. 2 of our 4 orders just didn't turn up! We waited and waited... nothing. Obviously we didn't pay for them but the staff didn't seem particularly bothered that we hadn't got our food. It was really rubbish for us as we were leaving that night as an 'emergency', driving to DC, and so 2 of us didn't get to eat until the next lunchtime.
Anyway, definitely worth a trip but don't expect too much. It's fun though. Also it claims to be open 23 hours a day...I believe this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad food but good people watching”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The menu is huge and a bit overwhelming. The pizza was dried out and the hot dog very overdone. There are much better options close by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Went here for breakfast as missed our hotel breakfast and was the best thing ever. Excellent service by down to earth waiters/waitresses. Ordered poached eggs (2) with toast, juice and coffee for $4.05 and my husband ordered Eggs Florentine which was THREE poached eggs on a huge bed of spinach and with juice, coffee and toast for around $7.00. Have not yet tried their burgers but would highly recommend for the budget conscious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Nick's Burger Joint & Pizza Joint also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Nick's Burger Joint & Pizza Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.