We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmine's Midtown

Carmine's Midtown
200 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
(212) 221-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmine's Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 11,765 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: Carmine's is two blocks north of the Times Square 42nd Street subway station serving the 1, 2, 3, 7, N, R subways. The A, C and E subways stop at 42nd Street and Eighth Ave. The B, D, F and V subways stop at 42nd Street and 6th Ave. The MTA bus system also serves the area. The M7, M10, M20, M27, M42, 27,104 all stop within one block of Carmine's.
Description: Thank you for choosing Carmine's Midtown. Should your plans change, please let us know by calling 212-221-3800 We look forward to serving you. For directions, reviews, menus, and other information at www.carminesnyc.com. Visit our online store for gift cards and Carmine's merchandise for the next holiday season or upcoming birthday.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Two adults and 2 children could only eat
half of one entrée and a third of the salad.
We packaged it up and gave to the homeless.
Good for a group and quite tasty.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,190
    1,314
    293
    83
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

With a group of friends, we visited Carmine's after seeing a show - great meal, big portions, friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Carmines big big portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Ate there before a matinee got there early (noon)and we were seated without a reservation. Within a half hour the place was packed. We ordered seafood over pasta and requested a white wine sauce instead of a red sauce as listed on the menu. They accommodated us and it was not a problem. The pasta was cooked perfectly, al dente the sauce was delicious all of which was an unexpected surprise. It is such a busy place that I thought for sure the food would be second rate is wasn't. We shared the dinner and there was a lot left over.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Has gone downhill since my last visit. Good for large families.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The atmosphere is great if you have a large family with kids. Since it is loud and family style dinning. Not where you want to bring someone for a romantic date. The food used to be better. I have noticed the busier the restaurant the worse the food was. We went the week of Christmas so you can only imagine how busy it was!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Recommended by a Friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My family and I went to Carmines on a recommendation from a friend who used to perform on Broadway and it was definitely a good recommendation. My wife and I loved the food and our 9, and 11 year old though the food was good. We did not know were the restaurant was located when we booked or show but it turned out that they were right across the street from each other so the location was great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Carmine's Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmine's Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.