We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average eatery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citrus Bar & Grill

Citrus Bar & Grill
320 Amsterdam Ave, New York City, NY 10023-8205 (Manhattan)
212-595-0500
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Citrus Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,755 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 75th Street
Transit: 1,2,or 3 train to 72nd Street train station.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not your average eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The menu heading kind of says it all, Latin/Asian fusion. Sushi with a latin, chili flavor combined with traditional Mexican/Latin renderings of mushu pork. Overall, the flavors are intense and very complimentary. Service is prompt, yet unobtrusive. Although somewhat pricey, alcoholic beverages such as Sangria were quite good. The bill was neither expensive nor cheap for the food eaten.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    55
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay, but crowded and noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Cirus Bar and Grill is conveniently located not far from Lincoln Center. Food and service are okay but inside it is incredibly crowded with every table taken and noisy, even by New York standards. Weather permitting try to sit outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“very loud and rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I hadn't been here in years. Maybe it's the fact that it has a "C" from the health department that kept me away. The service was terrible. The person at the front door was rude and should be given some lessons in how to treat guests. The room was very full and it was impossible to have a conversation because it was so loud. The decor is dated. The food was good (not great) and I didn't get sick from it (so I guess maybe it's cleaner in the kitchen now). Overall, I pretty much dislike this place. Rude, loud and unclean. Too bad the chef is pretty good. It's really not possible to have a relaxed dinner here because of the noise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Time Place despite Mediocrity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Sushi and tex-mex fusion. Walls and lighting are chic and modern. Floors and tables and table-settings are dated, worn, and standard-issue. Our server was charming and attentive but neither added, nor detracted from our experience. Hardly a soul in the dining room at 6PM, when we arrived; but a dozen or so barflies having fun in the bar. Quiet for us but the acoustics would be brutal when it is busy.

Known for its specialty margaritas, my companions each had the Monsoon Margarita. It is served in a tall pilsner glass with a straight straw which made drinking the cloyingly sweet liquid (the color of antifreeze) while still seated, impossible.

The red, green & white, 6" tortillas served with fajitas, were gummy and cold, straight from the package. Chips & salsa served before dinner were industrial and equally disappointing. They didn't have any interesting house-made hot sauces. The sizzling fajita vegetables were rather "rough hewn." For a sophisticated restaurant, I would have expected a more refined slicing, a more artful presentation.

The positives: they were happy to customize our menu requests so we created seared tuna fajitas. The tuna was delightfully fresh and lean and was seared perfectly. The skirt steak was tender and properly cooked. The timing was efficient. Nothing was served incorrectly. We had a great time visiting with our friend and had an adequate dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for our group of 6”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Perfect for larger groups with diverse tastes. Made dinner reservations that day- table was ready with no waiting - even when we were 15 min early! Great food (we loved the yellow fin tuna, salmon,citrus salad, sushi, apple pie, while the calamari was just ok). Excellent service, not too fast or slow, and atmosphere was lively but not too loud. We all left happy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citrus Bar & Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Citrus Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citrus Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.