We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-style Dominican Flavor Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Malecon Restaurant

El Malecon Restaurant
4141 Broadway, New York City, NY 10033-3702
(212) 927-3812
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,076 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Latin
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Topanga, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family-style Dominican Flavor Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stopped for a late lunch on our way to The Cloisters Museum. There was a line, but it moved quickly, and we were seated at a booth in the back. While in line, we watched the plates of Dominican specialties coming out of the kitchen --big plates of chicken and rice, beans and plantains. Tacos, soups, steaks and seafood paella. Mango shakes. Simple fare but so wonderfully delicious, served family style to share. The kids loved the crunchy grilled and flattened garlic bread that came immediately. I thought we ordered too much, but we ate everything! The wait staff and atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. It was a Saturday afternoon and the restaurant was filled with families speaking several different languages. A cultural and culinary experience off the beaten path, and well worth the trip. Great value, too! We were impressed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“This food is sooooooo GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is my first experience with Dominican food. And I must admit that any I have after this will have a lot to life up to. The chicken, lobster mofongo, plantains, and beans are just to die for!!! This place has a warm family vibe and staff is amazingly fast. If you come on a Sunday around 3 expect a wait. But the staff gets you seated pretty quickly. Trust me it's worth the wait. Yes add this to your list of must eat places in NYC.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Yellow Rice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I moved to Washington Heights from Hell's Kitchen (sigh, I know, what I get for getting engaged to a nurse at Columbia and couldn't turn down the gigantic hospital housing apartments)...
ANYWAYS. So I was bummed, Sad, to move from probably one of the most foodie parts of Manhattan, to a place I didn't even know was on the Island!

I probably get the whole chicken w/rice and beans combo 2-3 times a month. Their Whole chicken and rice deal is probably the best and most delicious in the city. GET THE YELLOW RICE. It has so much flavor, I eat it alone!

Their Modongo (tripe soup) isn't as good as others and their Maduros (Sweet plantains) aren't as caramelized as I normally prefer. But I still come back... for the yellow rice!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a great experience here and really enjoyed the food! Lots of variety and great service! This was one of the best spanish restuarants ive had the pleasure of visiting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cuban Style on Upper West Side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

They call themselves "el rey del pollo" and my friends agree that their chicken is special. We eat fish and it was quite good=though beware the "crab meat" as it is fake.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Malecon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Malecon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Malecon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.