We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ! It's not just good it's an experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eleven Madison Park

Eleven Madison Park
11 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10010-3643
212-889-0905
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eleven Madison Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 24th Street
Transit: N or R to 23rd st. & Broadway, or take the 6 to 23th St. & Park Ave.
Description: Eleven Madison Park is located in a landmark art deco building with soaring 35-foot ceilings and a view of Madison Square Park. We offer an intimate bar featuring 35 wines by the glass as well as seasonal classic and proprietary cocktails. The second floor private dining rooms also feature views of Madison Square Park. For both lunch and dinner, Eleven Madison Park offers a Tasting Menu for $195.
1 review
“Amazing ! It's not just good it's an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food and service . So much fun. The food tells a story of New York and the staff have many in arresting stories to add.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    130
    84
    27
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Everything you've heard about Eleven Madison Park true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We managed to secure reservations at a good time by using the AmEx Platinum concierge benefit. Dinner lasts around 3.5 hours and is a $225 tasting menu. Even on a Wednesday night the restaurant was packed but somehow didn't feel that way. It's taken me a few days to be able to articulate just how good this restaurant is.

The service was outstanding; every member of the Eleven Madison Park team were incredible, and at the top of their game. Food arrived with spectacular theater and is then the table cleared without us even disturbing our conversation. The sommelier was great and recommended a fantastic red, that met our budget and also had a connection with our past (a trip to Chinon, France).

The food was sublime! 14 amazing, wonderful courses that not only tasted good and looked great, but also challenged your palate and arrived with theatrical production. Some courses are introduced and a brief history of the dish given and others you're left to figure out. It truly was a 3-star Michelin experience.

The only blight on the experience was neighboring diners photographing each and every course. The couple dining next to us not only had ubiquitous iPhones, but also an SLR camera. I'm all for recording the occasion, but a few tasteful shots and some internalized memories of the incredible tasting menu would be better for all concerned. To their credit, the staff reminded them to switch of the flash, but this only lasted for a course or two.

As a momento of the occasion, you receive a copy of the menu you selected that evening and a few other goodies. If you only go once, it'll be the dinner of your life.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best. Meal. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I took my partner here to celebrate a recent promotion he just received. Neither of us had ever been here before but had heard about it. Everything you have heard about this place is true. It was one of the classiest and most delicious meals I've had in a very long time. This isn't a quick meal. Be prepared to spend three hours here and bring your Amex Platinum or Centurion card for the check.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A dance on the music of food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

There is not much one can possibly say about this restaurant if not that it is one of the very best in the world. Dine there to be enchanted by mesmerising flavours and wonderful new takes on New York classics, such as the best pastrami sandwich (which you will have to make yourself) that you will possibly ever eat. The apple and cucumber salad (the Waldorf salad) that our waiter prepared just in front of us was fabulous. The main course was delicious too, if only perhaps a touch too salty. Everything was splendid and over the course of 3.5 hours we enjoyed some stellar Riesling from the Finger Lakes, a great NY beer, and a fantastic schnapps (again, made in NY) at the end of the meal. The only thing that surprised us negatively was the fact that the restaurant still allows tipping. We found it baffling that such a world-leading establishment perpetrates one of the most pernicious aspects of the American dining tradition. It would be most welcome to see it instead setting a trend and stating on the receipt that it does not accept gratuities as all serving staff are salaried and fully compensated for their work. Another great NYC restaurant, Per Se, has already gone some way along that route. It would be time for Eleven Madison Park to make a similar move.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I cried, twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The good kind of tears. Came here with my husband for our anniversary and we were completely floored by the service, the fun and interesting menu, and the great wine. This was what I would dream a restaurant experience could be. We left elated and it was a dinner I will always remember. Carrot tartar- so fun. Pretzel and beer picnic- awesome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven Madison Park also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Eleven Madison Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eleven Madison Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.