We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flabbergastingly fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eleven Madison Park

Eleven Madison Park
11 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10010-3643
212-889-0905
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eleven Madison Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 24th Street
Transit: N or R to 23rd st. & Broadway, or take the 6 to 23th St. & Park Ave.
Description: Eleven Madison Park is located in a landmark art deco building with soaring 35-foot ceilings and a view of Madison Square Park. We offer an intimate bar featuring 35 wines by the glass as well as seasonal classic and proprietary cocktails. The second floor private dining rooms also feature views of Madison Square Park. For both lunch and dinner, Eleven Madison Park offers a Tasting Menu for $195.
Baden, Aargau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Flabbergastingly fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are willing to not only eat and drink, but also feel, sense, taste, see, touch and experience a whole new world of gastronomically cosmic elements, try Eleven Madison Park. Reserve yourself the whole evening. Before you enter, fill your lungs with fresh air, clean your glasses, then keep all your senses wide open and you will never forget those 15 steps to another world. As for me, the first course generated thoughts about hobgoblins, the second one pitter-pattered into my stomach and there I went, off into the world of Eleven Madison Park and Daniel Humms cosmos.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    130
    84
    27
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
442 helpful votes 442 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My spouse and I dined at Eleven Madison Park (EMP) for dinner in mid-October 2012. We had tried several times previously to secure a reservation at EMP, calling at 9:00 am 28 days before we wished to dine, but we were never successful in doing anything more than adding our name to the waiting list. But in mid-September, in addition to telephoning at the appointed time, we also logged onto Open Table to attempt a reservation, and met with success! EMP serves lunch on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, and dinner daily.

EMP serves only a multi-course tasting menu for $195 per person (previously, there were other less-elaborate and less-expensive menu choices and combinations). Most of the courses are blind (you have no choice); however, for four courses, you are presented with a menu with four columns, each with four rows of ingredients, and you are asked to make one selection from each row (for example, foie gras, lobster, potato, lettuce, beet, chestnut). EMP then incorporates that ingredient into your dish. We intentionally (although stupidly!) chose the least-expensive and least-interesting-sounding items, thinking that any great chef could make foie gras and lobster taste great, but that it would take a more adept and creative chef to elevate more simple ingredients such as lettuce and beets. (We followed a similar principle when we ordered one vegetable-based tasting at Per Se, and we were impressed beyond belief at how complex and interesting the mostly non-meat dishes were!) The dishes that we chose for ourselves at EMP were tasty, but we felt a little cheated (and mad at ourselves!) that we did not chose the more luxurious items. We will not go into detail about all the "standard" courses, because they may not be the same as when you dine there, and we also do not want to spoil the surprise on some of the more inventive and unforgettable courses (but our favorites involved sturgeon, carrot, cheese/beer, and dessert). Service was quite good, although not flawless.

The restaurant space at EMP is beautiful, housed in an old bank building, and features high ceilings and large windows. There is a bar area at EMP, so do not hesitate to arrive early for a drink and to soak up the atmosphere. It appeared that you could also order a limited menu at both the bar and at the bar tables, so if this restaurant is on your must-dine list and you have difficulty getting a reservation, at least you could eat and drink in the space and get a general idea of what EMP is all about.

We were celebrating both a birthday and an anniversary on the night that we dined, and there was a card on our table when we arrived, as well as personalized menus with a congratulatory message, and an extra treat to take home.

We would be happy to return to EMP again if the opportunity presented itself. However, we are also extremely excited to try chef Daniel Humm’s other restaurant, the NoMad.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been very fortunate to eat at a number of top restaurant's, most recently Noma, but this place is right up there. It is an experience dining event - probably not somewhere you would want, or be able to afford to go frequently but for a one off or special occasion, this will not disappoint. Won't say too much about the menu as it's supposed to be a surprise on the night (neither will they), but just sit back, relax and enjoy a truly great experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NYC gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If there were eleven stars to rate this restaurant, it should get them all. It is a different dining experience for those who are up to it. Reserve, sit down and open up your mind and heart to a train of magnificent courses. Good wine, company and it cannot get any better. I like to book here when I travel to NYC and there is a special occasion on my calendar. Top notch service a must with Michelin rated restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
481 helpful votes 481 helpful votes
“Best meal of week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited eleven madison as part of our week long trip to New York. Had a 4 hour lunch.... Very long by US standards - but what better way to apend an. Afternoon-and a lovely experience. One of only places in week that had good 'European' style service much more sincere than normally encountered in the US. Please take note brooklyn fare and atera!!

The food was interesting, there was plenty of theatre and the food tasted good. One of the best meals we have had in the US .

We would definitely return!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven Madison Park also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Eleven Madison Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eleven Madison Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.