We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haru Broadway

Haru Broadway
229 West 43rd Street, Times Square, New York City, NY 10036-3913 (Manhattan)
(212) 398-9810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #744 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Transit: 1, 2, 3, R, W, Q, N & 7 trains to 42nd Street/Times Square and E, A & C trains to 42nd Street/Eighth Avenue.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were here 2 times during our stay in New York City, once for dinner and once for lunch. The restaurant was not that pack during lunch time. I have ordered Unaju (Eel on rice) and my husband ordered the Salmon Teriyaki Bento both were from the lunch menu and they were delicious. On top of that, we have ordered 2 rolls as well, which tasted average.

As for dinner, the restaurant was really packed even on a weekday. There was no wait for our table as we have made reservation through Opentable in advance. The restaurant was a bit noisy but did not disturb us at all. We have ordered the Tempura Rock Shrimp as starter, 4 special rolls and a seared scallop entree on their special menu. The food came out quick although the restaurant was full and of course they tasted wonderful as well, especially the scallops. Although the price is on the high side but the food quality and taste are all worth it.

We will come here again the next time we visit New York.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    123
    42
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a great happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Why people would choose Joe's Crab Shack or Red Lobster in Times Square baffles me…especially since there exist places like Haru that have great food and extremely reasonable prices. 3 of us ate for under $80, and the food was good. I highly recommend the fish tacos. So, when next in NYC and you find yourself in Times Square…be somewhat less a tourist and enjoy some quality food at Haru.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum very delicious ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very excellent sushi. Very much enjoyed myself and my boyfriend liked his rolls too. The only adjustment I would recommend is for the waitress/could be possible manager to be slightly more accommodating. My boyfriend ordered his favorite, an old fashioned and there was certainly not an ounce of liquor. We did tell the waitress but she did not care. Other than that the sushi itself was very satisfying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very tasty sushi, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had the vegy combination which was very good. The waiter was very helpful, food was very tasty. Atmosphere was great. The place is designed nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Sushi Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We love coming to Haru Sushi, whether it's for lunch, for dinner, or for their Happy Hour (appropriately called "Sake Hour"). We started with edamami, had some hot tea, lemongrass hot & sour soup, sushi, and green tea ice cream. The Sake Hour menu is limited, but the prices are great. If you like sushi, good deals, and Broadway, come to THIS location!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haru Broadway also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Haru Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haru Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.