We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to end your evening after theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Allen

Joe Allen
326 W 46th St, New York City, NY 10036-3801 (Midtown)
(212) 581-6464
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Allen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #312 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Opened in May 1965 by Joe Allen himself, Joe Allen Restaurant in New York City has always aimed to serve good food at reasonable prices. With a casual, yet professional ambience, Joe Allen Restaurant is ideally located for several Broadway theatres, making it a great choice for a meal before or after the show. Joe Allen Restaurant in New York is open for lunch and dinner seven days a week, and also serves brunch on Sunday. The regional American menu changes daily and offers a wide range of choices. Accompanying your meal, the wine list features carefully chosen selections from around the world. The bar also stocks an impressive array of imported and draught beers.
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great way to end your evening after theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We heard about this after theatre eatery and decided to give it a try. Good food, ambiance, service - and not too expensive. It is also in a good location with quick access after your show ends. A New York City treat that provides a nice ending to an evening of theatre.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    164
    45
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crete, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were directed to this restaurant by our tour guide - and it was worth it! We had the New York steak and salmon. They were both excellently done and we were impressed by the speed of the service - even for a late Friday night supper.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Theatre District Restaurant New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a great spot in the Theatre District for pre Theatre or after Theatre meals. Reasonable prices and good food. Their Burger is amazing but they have many other items to choose from. Reservation needed for pre Theatre dining. Open till 11 PM. Great house wine at reasonable pricing the red is a Primitivo. Outstanding service from the door thru the meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than the London one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We managed to get a table, earlier than we really wanted but as it was just after hurricane Sandy struck we couldn't be picky.
The decor is warm and inviting if a little dark and the tables are very close to each other but as we were desperate for some decent food we accommodated their seating structure. We were four people and really it was a table for two! still two were children so we though ok how much space can they take up.................how wrong were we! The two aduluts almost had dinner on their laps!
Having said all of that the food was basic but good, in fact apart from our steak dinner on the first night, a week earlier, it was the one of the best meals I had had in New York.
It was definately better than the London branch which I have been to many, many times.
I would definately recommend it to anyone coming to London, especially anyone wanting a "normal" size portion. The bill wasn't that expensive, in fact it was less than we had paid for breakfast in a "tourist trap"near Times Square.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Went to JA's before our show. Great service and the burger was delicious. Others at our table has steak and said it was wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Allen also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Joe Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Allen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.