We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better food quality and service for the money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knickerbocker Bar and Grill

Knickerbocker Bar and Grill
33 University Pl, New York City, NY 10003 (Greenwich Village)
(212) 228-8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Knickerbocker Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #637 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: The 6 train at Astor place, or the R & N to 8th street are just a block away. Other stations like Union Square & West 4th street are just a short walk away and have most train lines.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Should be better food quality and service for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Good atmosphere even thought it's crowded seating. Monkfish was rubbery, sauce was soupy. Waitress forgot to ever bring two people the drinks they ordered. We ordered the cookie for desert and she brought the souffle instead. When we arrived at 9 they were out of five or six menu items. Disappointing and inattentive service but friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    71
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks, quirky decor, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were told this place was a throw-back to the 60s with amazing steaks, and that's what it is. Yes, the decor is dated, but the staff are great and the food - the steaks - are amazing.Three of us had the T-Bone which weighed in at 84 ounces. Suffice to say we finished the steak, but not the fries or creamed spinach, and desserts did not feature at the end for us. It's not a fancy uptown steakhouse, but it's not fancy uptown prices, and it's in am interesting part of town near NYU.

Very good value, and the steaks are cooked to perfection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

OK, I have eaten at Lugars, Sparks, Mortons, DelFriscos, Palm, Palm too, Smith and Wollensky, Old Homestead etc... They are almost all worthy of 5 stars for their steaks while their service and decor are a matter of opinion.
Knickerbocker is a whole other animal. They have amazing steaks, great service and that low key "real" NYC vibe. Without a doubt my favorite steak in NYC.
If you want the Clubby Steakhouse experience then head to Sparks, Palm or Smith and Wollensky or any of the others in that order.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good spot to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I tried the Knickerbocker and had a great time. Very old school feel. Food was good (not great) but certainly worth a try. Staff was friendly. Cookie would have been fantastic with more ice cream.......but don't miss it either way!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Best chicken pot pie ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

You have to have the chicken pot pie with truffle shavings! Yes, it may take at least 20 minutes but well worth the wait. The best I have ever had (the crust, the filling, it was all good). It was huge and could be shared by two people depending on your appetite. I also had their onion soup and it had that nice cheesy browned top and lovely broth taste. The entrees were all huge so I doubt most will need to order appetizer or dessert. Pair it with a nice cold beer and a happy belly it is. The waitress was very attentive and provided excellent service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knickerbocker Bar and Grill also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Knickerbocker Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knickerbocker Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.