We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malatesta Trattoria

Malatesta Trattoria
649 Washington St, New York City, NY 10014-2865 (West Village)
(212) 741-1207
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,245 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An Italian gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just off the West Village this is a great place with delicious Italian cuisine to match. We visited at lunchtime on a sunday and were first slightly apprehensive as we were the only diners. Our order included the calamari for starters and the spinach gnocchi and tangliatelle ragu for mains. All were superb and given the chance we will be back for seconds...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, not bad prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had a wonderful meal here, but like every NY restaurant we visited, it was deafening inside! We were lucky and got a table outside in great weather, and our meals were delicious.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real Italian in the middle of NYC - only cash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The place is so cozy and authentic that we felt we were in Italy. The appetizer size is enough to share. The taste of the food and the wine selection is amazing. They can be a little busy so a reservation wouldn't hurt, but if you are just nearby is a great option. They take only cash.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven CT
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian on lower west side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Good little Italian restaurant on the lower West side. Saw the good reviews on New York Magazine and crossed checked with tripadvisor wasn't disappointed. Had 7 dinners, 2 apps, 2 bottles of white wine, 1 bottle red the Lamb chops were small but good everyone had pasta all were very good. We had the mussels and the grilled calamari each very good as apps. Bill was 308 with tax and tip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Only good things to say about Malatesta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Best grilled calamari we've ever tasted served over arugula. Melt-in-your-mouth spinach gnocchi served over cream sauce, perfectly prepared lamb chops and desserts all to die for. Attentive servers.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malatesta Trattoria also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Malatesta Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malatesta Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.