We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Sevilla

Meson Sevilla
344 W 46th St, New York City, NY 10036-3807 (Manhattan)
212-262-5890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Meson Sevilla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,549 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: A, C & E trains to 42nd Street/Port Authority.
Description: For over 25 years meson Sevilla has established itself as a staple in Midtown Manhattan. Serving classic Spanish cuisine, trendy tapas and Italian specialties, the menu can satisfy everyone's appetite. The restaurant is family owned and operated, and treats all of their guests as family.
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very small restaurant on 46th Street's restaurant row(between 8th and 9th). Good convenient location, but at best only average tapas. Even the tortilla espanola, which is a staple of any tapas restaurant, was average.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    55
    20
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Spain in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

As a group of four, we shared two main dishes plus several tapas. The small plate portions were of good size and the main dishes were plentiful. The paella Valenciana was satisfying and filled with goodies even if it was not quite of the level one might find in Catalan in Spain. The seafood Mariscada in green sauce was quite tasty and the restaurant was willing to omit one particular element to customize the dish. This cooperation is important for food allergies and/ or specialized tastes and unfortunately fewer and fewer chefs are willing to make even minor modifications lately. The restaurant was not noisy but we did go early. We enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Spanish close to Time Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A littel tuch of Spain close to Time Square, but it is a typical NYC restaurant when it comes to (lack of) space. Be aware of the "pri show time" when it gets busy and a bit loud. Could also be difficult to get a table without reservation.
The staff was friendly, the wine list OK and the menu you can feel the spanish cuisine. We had paella and it was good, lots of seafood and tasty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great food, fast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant was very good. My friend and I got the grilled asparagus, mushrooms stuffed with crab meat, garlic shrimp, and empanadas. All were delicious especially the mushrooms. We also got the white sangria which was gone so quickly it was so good and the flan. I will come back again for sure! The staff was very nice and fast!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Our new favorite in the theatre district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited Meson Sevilla pre-theatre for lunch in May because we enjoy Tapas. What a gem! No problem getting served with plenty of time to get to the theatre. I highly recommend the sangria. The chorizo in red wine, jamon ham, and shrimp with garlic were some of the dishes we tried. The service was attentive but not intrusive.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Sevilla also viewed

 

Been to Meson Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Sevilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.