We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Italian, one fault” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patsy's Italian Restaurant

Patsy's Italian Restaurant
236 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-4306 (Manhattan)
+1 212-247-3491
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 11,595 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Description: Since 1944, we've been a family-run restaurant offering classic Neapolitan cuisine in a warm, friendly environment.
Madison, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent Italian, one fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Authentic Italian in a nice setting. Only five-minute walk to major theatres. Ordered Veal Rollatini and Chicken Parmesan - good portions. Waiter was attentive, but not terribly personable. No online dessert menu because they have a dessert cart with changing items - strawberries and cream, tiramisu, and Italian cream cake on our night. Suggest reservations. Would eat here again to try other menu items. A small peeve of mine - Pepsi instead of Coke.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    615
    154
    64
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had been in NYC for several days and met up with an old friend at Patsy's!
The food was OUTSTANDING, the service was FABULOUS...my only regret is that I didn't host my customer dinner from the night before there...but, NEXT time I will!! Sal is warm, friendly, and our wait staff chose dishes for us, wine, and couldn't have treated us better. Best service in NYC!
We were lucky enough to get our picture with Richard Petty since numerous celebs come to Patsy's. It was just a great experience and absolutely the best in NYC.
thanks Sal!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You'll be glad you came”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

With my wife and 2 other couples we visited Patsys on a busy Saturday night for her birthday before going to a Broadway show. I knew Patsys was an old Sinatra favorite and therefore was a "bucket list" visit for me. All but one had never been there before so we were all there on my recommendation. The pressure was on!

Our night was everything you would expect from a high end NYC Italian restaurant. The atmosphere was charmingly old school without feeling dated. The food was terrific and most importantly the service was friendly and unpretentious. The owner, Sal took the time to talk to us for quite awhile at our request and showed us pictures of various celebrities who had come in, not in a "show off" way but in response to our questions regarding Sinatra and the old days.

I really appreciated the spacing of the courses as we weren't rushed at all. My invited guests were happy and therefore I was happy too. Ricotta cheese cake was out of this world.

One word of caution, its located in the busiest part of the city so leave time to get there if you drive in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to eat some nice Italian fare - at a reasonable price - try Patsy's. After a serious afternoon of shopping with my wife, we were a bit hungry - but did not want to stand and wait.

We saw the Patsy's Pizza sign and headed for it. Service was very good, we were seated and our order was taken quickly. We did not feel rushed. The lasagna I had was very cheesy and taste was very good. My wife had a peperoni pizza, and the peperoni was fresh and full of flavor. So was the crust, and sauce. Our meal was served with a nice helping f fresh bread, and extra virgin olive oil.

The meal was very good. I absolutely would recommend Patsy's as a nice stop to have a very good casual meal, at a good price.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that enjoyes

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Another recommendation from Trip Advisor reviewers, It was walking distance from our hotel and we decided to go out at the last minute. We called and they had no reservations available, but suggested that we come over and they would see if they could fit us in. We did, and they fit us in at about 9:30 pm. The place is very nicely done. Even though it was crowded we had excellent service! They were perfectly attentive and the food was very nice. It all tasted very fresh and we were very pleased i'm leaving in Dubai but definitelyif ill come back I will visit again

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patsy's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Patsy's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patsy's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.