We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Giallo To Go

Pepe Giallo To Go
253 10th Ave, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10001-7014 (Chelsea)
212-242-6055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #963 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A nice lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

And a quaint place with great staff. It was too hot for the back garden, but we'd love to try that sometime. We only had salads, the orange-goat-organic greens with grilled shrimp and the pear-arugula-gorgonzola with grilled chicken. Nicely done, just the right size, not a bad price. We were also too hot and tired to try a panini or pasta, but everything looked delicious....take a nice long break and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    23
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Secluded Italian in Chelsea...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had a nice time having dinner with my wife at Pepe Giallo. The restaurant is located in 10th avenue, a really nice and somewhat secluded area. It’s great seeing that Chelsea is in pretty good shape, I love that neighborhood. Every time I come to NYC I try to walk around and it’s awesome to see how the area has changed since 1997, when I visited New York for the fist time.
We chose Pepe Giallo because a dear friend of us recommended the place and we did not want to break the bank for a nice meal. Even though we did not have a reservation, we very seated in the back of the property, which is a very nice covered patio, very beautifully decorated. For one moment, we were transported to our beloved Mediterranean part of Europe.
Our server was really nice. As appetizers we had a delicious burrata, and just before that a loaf of very good bread with an excellent olive oil. We ordered two glasses of the house red wine, which was clearly above average, and I had pappardelle and my wife had chicken Milanese. Both entrees were very good and very filling, and after that we did not have room for dessert. Nevertheless we had a true espresso, what a great way to end a nice dinner. We will surely come back! The price tag was less than 50 USD, which is great for NYC standards.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tasty & Convenient Italian in the Heart of Chelsea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently had a delightful lunch at Pepe Giallo"s right near the Highline, Chelsea Piers and the Chelsea art galleries. The service was courteous, the food delicious and prices reasonable. The decor is a bit "retro" from the 40's & 50s', so just relax and sip a glass of house white. Ask for a table in the garden room at the back where a smattering of sunshine filtered through the protective awning shading the patio dining room.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chelsea gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We visited NYC for the first time in March and this place was recommended by a friend living there. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was great. Ask for the back room if possible. It's charming! Food was good. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is one of the least expensive places to dine in Chelsea. The menu is pretty standard Italian, heavy on the pastas. It's OK, best to go if you just can't afford any of the other Chelsea dining spots.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Giallo To Go also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pepe Giallo To Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Giallo To Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.