We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian atmosphere and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoro Rosso

Pomodoro Rosso
229 Columbus Ave, New York City, NY 10023-4007 (Upper West Side)
212-721-3009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pomodoro Rosso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #939 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: W 71st
New Canaan, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pomodoro is a slice of Italy on Columbus Avenue, New York. The restaurant's exterior, dining room with red and white checked table cloths, service and food all speak of italy. The menue is large and there are so many good things to choose from. You can even get fresh or dry pasta. From the clams oregano to the rocatta cheese cake everything was well prpared and very authentic. We plan to make this our go-to-restaurant whenever we are in the Lincoln Center Area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    45
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“This restaurant is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My best friend and I go there many many times and we love the food there and the service has been wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was very pleased with this restaurant, overall! It had a charming atmosphere (real authentic Italian) and the food was delicious. The drinks were also wonderful. The service was incredible. The prices were a little high, but it was worht it. I will come here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you want Italian food in New York City, this is the one you won't be disappointed. No matter what you order, you always get delicious food, and at New York standard, price is very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“We will definitely go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We popped into this restaurant by chance when in New York. It was early afternoon so the restaurant was quiet but it still had a lovely atmosphere. The food was second to none. The pasta was the freshest pasta I've had in years. We will definitely go back when we are in NYC again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro Rosso also viewed

 

Been to Pomodoro Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomodoro Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.