We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Italian! Great ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoro Rosso

Pomodoro Rosso
229 Columbus Ave, New York City, NY 10023-4007 (Manhattan)
212-721-3009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pomodoro Rosso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,257 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: W 71st
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old World Italian! Great ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stopped in quite by accident and have found another delight to add to our list of favorites! Had the tricolor tortellini and the breaded veal cutlet and both were superb! The pasta was done to perfection, not al dente, and the sauce was delicious! Warm bread was served and it was italian food nirvana!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good and friendly restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

this restaurant was a very good choice , very good service , food was excellent and the ambiance was cauzy.
They have a good choice of wine and the price is well worth the plates.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian cuisine but everything is a la carte!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Our second night in New York we decided to try this Italian restaurant. It was good Friday so we were searching for a meat less option. The staff was very friendly and seated us right away. We tried a glass of the rose house wine, which was very good. My wife and I both ordered lobster ravioli. The white sauce was sweet and complimented the ravioli. We thoroughly enjoyed it! The only downside was that everything was a la carte. For the cost, I would've liked a side, such as salad.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We see the Allman Brothers Band every year in March at the Beacon Theater. It's become our tradition to have dinner at Pomodoro prior to the show! The food is outstanding...and so is the service. We have never been disappointed with any of our menu choices; all were fresh and expertly prepared. Desserts look wonderful, but alas, I never have enough room to indulge!!
Do not miss this cozy, truly Italian restaurant. You'll love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely classic Italian restaurant that we went to for lunch. We found it by chance and were delighted with the quality of the fresh food. My wife is Italian and knows good Italian food and this matched up to her high standards!!
Although the waitress we had was keen to rush us initially with our order, once she realised that we were there to take our time, everything flowed well and overall the staff were efficient and friendly and the atmosphere was welcoming. I had mussels in a tomato and garlic based sauce followed by penne pasta and sausage meat/tomato sauce. My wife had the rocket and grilled shrimp salad, followed by the rigatoni with ham and peas. She says not to be put off this dish because it says 'with a pink sauce', it basically means tomato sauce and cream. The portions were satisfyingly large and we absolutely loved our choices.
I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro Rosso also viewed

 

Been to Pomodoro Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomodoro Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.