We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rice to Riches

Rice to Riches
37 Spring St, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10012-5723 (Manhattan)
212-274-0008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm a total rice pudding lover and so when i saw this place had to try it. They let us sample a few flavours and i settled on having a cookies and creme rice pudding with a brownie crumble on top. The portion was pretty big, we'd come from a dinner so i didn't manage even half of it but i carried it back home in the cute little containers they come in and had it the next day for breakfast, it was just as good. Totally recommend this place! Also they're iced cider was delicious too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    146
    34
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This will change your opinion about rice pudding forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A friend recommended that we find this little spot when we were in NYC for the weekend. What a treat. Easy to find in a fun part of the city. I have never been a big fan of rice pudding, but this is definitely not your grandma's dessert. Interesting and unique flavors (mascarpone and cherries was a favorite), bright atmosphere, and very clever signage make for a fun experience. The staff was friendly, and even the bowls and spoons are a little funky and fun. Glad they ship!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Marscapone Rice Pudding = The Garden of Eden in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We regularly go to R2R - how could you not? Over the years I have sample dozens of flavors and many are superlative. But the marscapone is on the top of the list for me. Smooth, creamy and delish. The staff is friendly and patient; you may sample as many flavors as you want before making your selection. Like a great gellateria in Italy, order a few flavors. The bowls and spoons are colorful and unique; we have brought quite a few home with us.

R2R is a wonderful alternative to the dessert offerings at the various restaurants and bakeries a few blocks south in Little Italy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Every time we're in New York we make a special trip to Rice to Riches. It's yummy delicious! If too much times goes by before we can get there again--or we can think of an excuse where we can't live without it (a painful dental procedure)--we have had it shipped to us. Allow a few extra minutes to read all of the signs while enjoying your rice pudding. It's not an everyday meal, but an extra-special treat!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rice Pudding Lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you love rice pudding - this place is a must! Every type of rice pudding is available including seasonal flavors. Be prepared because it is so hard to choose. I recommend choosing 2 and get the smaller size of each. Careful not to eat too much at one time, but take your time to "savor the flavor" - this way you can enjoy it through out the day!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice to Riches also viewed

 

Been to Rice to Riches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice to Riches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.