We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the PF Chang's of Mexican Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center

Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center
61 Columbus Ave at 62nd St, New York City, NY 10023-6901 (Manhattan)
+1 212-977-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #538 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $22 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 62nd Street
Transit: 1,A,B,C,D trains to 59th Street. 1 train to Lincoln Center (66th)
Description: Our highly anticipated second Rosa Mexicano location opened in July 2000. Just steps away from Lincoln Center, this impressive David Rockwell-designed space features a 30-foot iridescent blue tile water wall that spans both levels of the restaurant and is adorned with 240 miniature cliff divers. Here you’ll also find a dramatic “floating” staircase made of orange and red terrazzo slabs and backlit panels behind the bar embedded with rose petals. Awarded “Best Restaurant 2000” by Interiors Magazine, this unique, contemporary look ushered in a new era for us at Rosa Mexicano.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“the PF Chang's of Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Its like the PF Chang's of mexican food. My family loves mexican food. Their guacamole is great, and they make it as spicy as you like it. The quality of their food and ingredients is well above any other mexican place. We enjoy dining here, service was very good, staff friendly and the food was enjoyed by all. I had the ahi tuna ceviches, tasty but the watermelon pieces were overpowering the rest of the dish, especially the tuna.I had the pescado pibil which was very tasty, highly recommended. The flan was good, but heavy on the coffee flavor, and the kids loved the churros with the sauces. My wife didn't care too much for the margaritas, the wine was decent, we had ordered the cab.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    216
    77
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“for tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We go to the opera and concerts a lot and finding restaurants that aren't overpriced, noisy or just overrated is difficult.
Rosa Mexicana makes nice looking food that's tastes ok but I find it unauthentic and bland. The service is good but it's noisy and the wine is nothing special and expensive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello Holly~
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent dining experience at Rosa Mexicano. We take great pride in delivering the most authentic and enjoyable Mexican dining experience to our guests and look forward to having the opportunity to impress a better opinion of Rosa Mexicano upon you in the near future. Your information and concerns have been forwarded to our management team who would like the opportunity to follow up with you in the near future, as we appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Montgomery, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This our second trip to Rosa Mexicano and it is wonderful! My boyfriend and I went here on our first date last year and have decided to keep the tradition going!

The ambiance is calm and relaxing. I love the wall when you first walk in.

The food is great. Table side guacamole, expensive, but tasty. Since my boyfriend is Mexican, he always picks our meals! The tacos are great and so are the homemade tortillas.

Margaritas and sangria are strong and tasty.

Service is great. We will definitely continue going to Rosa Mexicano.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The food here is not your typical Mexican tacos and enchiladas. It is much more sophisticated and intricate. And the guacamole, which is made at your table, is the best anywhere! It is a perfect place to dine before a Lincoln Center event.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great choice for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were looking for a mid-afternoon meal before leaving NYC and got lucky with this pick. Decent food at lunch prices. I got the Cobb salad. Very good with fresh vegetables, blue cheese, sausage and grilled chicken . My husband ordered the quesadilla. It was a bit thin, but a full 8" shell with cheese to the edges.

The waiter finally brought a little salsa. And complimentary chips would have gone a long way to make up for the $3.75 diet Coke.

Location great and service pretty good. I bet it gets expensive fast on the dinner menu, so go for lunch!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center also viewed

 

Been to Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.