We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guacamole ever!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center

Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center
61 Columbus Ave at 62nd St, New York City, NY 10023-6901 (Manhattan)
+1 212-977-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #531 of 11,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $22 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 62nd Street
Transit: 1,A,B,C,D trains to 59th Street. 1 train to Lincoln Center (66th)
Description: Our highly anticipated second Rosa Mexicano location opened in July 2000. Just steps away from Lincoln Center, this impressive David Rockwell-designed space features a 30-foot iridescent blue tile water wall that spans both levels of the restaurant and is adorned with 240 miniature cliff divers. Here you’ll also find a dramatic “floating” staircase made of orange and red terrazzo slabs and backlit panels behind the bar embedded with rose petals. Awarded “Best Restaurant 2000” by Interiors Magazine, this unique, contemporary look ushered in a new era for us at Rosa Mexicano.
Millican, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best guacamole ever!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Being from Texas i was looking for a good margarita and that's just what i found. It was good but not spectacular! But the guacamole made up for it. Made at the table and i could have just ate that for my meal. The food was different from the Tex-Mex i'm used to but all in all it was good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    216
    76
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fab place - great guacamole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A big fan of Mexican food it was great to experience Rosa Mexicana. Great atmosphere from the moment you enter - lively bar and a real buzz about the place. Cool decor especially the water feature wall. Food was excellent and the guac the best I've ever tasted. Only slight disappointment was where we were seated (upstairs and in a quieter corner which felt out of the way and lacked the atmosphere of the rest of the restaurant). Would definitely go back but request seating!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“We were at the one in Union Square and loved it .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The food was really good and special , the deco very special , the service perfect and you can even have a decent conversation cause it is not too noisy . We were a group of 6 and had a great time . Fully recommended!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Guacamole alone is worth visiting for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Lovely Mexican restaurant. Different to the standard that we seem to get from Mexican Dining Experiences in the UK. Not your typical Fajitas/Enchiladas/Tacos (although more upmarket versions of these dishes are available).
On seating at your table you are offered the opportunity to have the Guacamole to start. If you like Guacamole, DO NOT SAY NO at this point. It is SUPERB. A server will come and ceremoniously prepare the dish right before your eyes. This is then served with Tortillas and some additional spicy sauces.
Ambience is good, quite a good party atmosphere but you shouldn't let this detract from your experience. We visited as a couple and felt more than comfortable, but the atmosphere would work for pairs or larger groups. Tables are well spaced apart and decor is nice. Restaurant is at the Lincoln Center just a short walk from the south west corner of central park (Columbus Circle).
Service is very good. Attentive and friendly.
Would highly recommend dining here; I will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“muy autentico”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was afraid this would turn out to be a touristy Tex-Mex place, given its location. But it’s a very good presentation of Oaxaca-Puebla cuisine (the two best in Mexico) with a little Veracruz thrown in.

They do a tableside guacamole, which is ok, good large chunks of avocado style. Nice touch – warm corn tortillas, not just chips, come with it. App. of cheese fondita – appropriately runny. Star was the entrée: crabmeat filled enchilada. Really good, meaty filling in a nice soft tortilla with a great green sauce (tomatilla, cilantro, pumpkin seed). Special housemade salsas each night – we had two outstanding ones, but skimpy – immediately ask for more.

Attentive service, and not too noisy if you ask to be seated upstairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center also viewed

 

Been to Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa Mexicano - Lincoln Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.