We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food with reasonable prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal SIAM Thai Cuisine

Royal SIAM Thai Cuisine
240 8th Avenue, bet. 22nd & 23rd st., New York City, NY 10011-1623 (Chelsea)
212-741-1732
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,568 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
panama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Thai food with reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very friendly staff, nice looking Thai restaurant right on 8th Ave in Chelsea serves very good Thai food, everything we had was delicious and you could order it mild if you can not tolerate spicy foods. Very reasonable prices and nice size portions!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another Chelsea Thai Eatery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Royal Siam Thai Cuisine is located on 8th Ave in Chelsea. It is my favorite place to eat lunch. They have a lunch special that is both reasonable and special. Food is excellent and the servers are more than happy to answer any questions you may have about the menu. The decor is quite original. Look for a large lamp in the shape of a bird standing in the corner. I love it. If you have concerns about spicy dishes, the chef will adjust spices to your taste. You can order spicy or not spicy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant has been in business for a long time and is a favorite of Chelsea residents. The fact that they have repeat customers is a great indicator of their food and service. We ate here on a Saturday night and shared chicken satay ($7), sliced chicken breast marinated in Thai herbs, coconut milk, charbroiled and served with peanut sauce and cucumber sauce. We both ordered Tom Kha Gai soup ($5), chicken in coconut milk, herbs and cream broth. Our main dish was Pad Thai with fried tofu. The flavors are bold and not as sweet as the food served at other Thai restaurants while they still maintain reasonable prices. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

In a cosy atmosphere, you get served tasty food. I introduced my two dining companions to duck -- a meat they frowned upon ; they overcame their initial reticence and at the end of the meal they concluded that they will have duck again. We also had the mixed seafood soup served on a hot pot: it was the perfect dish for a cold winter evening. We topped the dinner with two desserts -- the banana crepes Thai style and Thai custard - that made the evening a memorable one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still the best in the neighbor hood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Royal Siam is the oldest Thai restaurant in the neighborhood and has gotten plenty of competition in this category in the past few years. But I think it is still the most unique and has the most traditional Thai atmosphere. Not as hip or trendy as the others, it still is a reliable choice and has a cozy atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal SIAM Thai Cuisine also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Royal SIAM Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal SIAM Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.