We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Snack Taverna

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Snack Taverna
63 Bedford St, Corner of Morton and 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10014-4011 (Manhattan)
212-929-3499
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Snack Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #965 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 7th Avenue, Morton and Bedford
Transit: Take the Red Line 1, 2 or 3 train to either Christopher St (4 blocks down 7th ave.) or Houston St (4 blocks up 7th ave.). We are located on the corner of 7th avenue and Bedford. The Blue Line A, E and C or Orange Line F, V, B or D stop to West 4th street. Cross Bleeker to 7th avenue and then continue down 7th avenue 3 blocks to Bedford.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Variable staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been twice recently, last Saturday and then again on Sunday, each time with different friends. Saturday was my first time and I was impressed by the ambience, food and an excellent server. Then last night, when the restaurant was much less busy, it was impossible to get any server attention without waving an arm about, and he was indifferent. Sad to be disillusioned so quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Manager made it clear it was time to leave...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had an expensive but good meal--had been happy with everything until the manager asked if we were leaving soon because a group of women (who had another table ready for them) would prefer our table. It was appalling; any decent staff member--let alone management--at what is meant to be a high-end (200$ for four) establishment--would never have done such a thing. Never going again, even though the food is excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrific lamb boureki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The salads are pretty spectacular as well. In short, the whole menu is delicious, but I am addicted to the lamb boureki.

Friendly management, good service, small and cozy on one of the prettiest corners in the Village. This is definitely a neighborhood place that tourists would do well to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was the 4th time my wife and I have dined here during a semi-annual visit to nyc, and I am amazed at the consistently excellent dining experience the proprietors provide for their customers. Food is the best Greek fare I can find (I eat a lot of Greek food), service was unusually caring, helpful, and upbeat. The restaurant creates a very pleasant physical ambience as well. I have zeo complaints, oither than I wish they were located in Chicago.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A gorgeous find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a great place to stumble across whilst we were in need of a rest.

The service was marvellous, the food was just perfect and wish I could have eaten everything off the menu.

Very friendly staff made this place a delight to visit and have a break from the outside world.

Would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snack Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Snack Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snack Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.