We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushiden Madison Ave

Sushiden Madison Ave
19 E 49TH St, New York City, NY 10017-1003 (Manhattan)
(212) 758-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,458 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Eaten at a lot of different sushi places over the years and this is right up there. We ate in a format whereby the chef surprised us with each new course. A lot of fun! Service was exemplary. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on the reviews. It was a good recommendation. The food is served very quickly, beautifully cooked and well presented. I loved the waiters all dressed in ancient japanese style kimono. Overall a nice restaurant to go but a bit expensive.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I come to Sushiden a few times a week for both business and private use. I have had sushi at many big cities including in japan and this place is overall the best. I recommend you sit at the counter for omakase but be prepared to pay for it. however, it worth very penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese food & service in this fine restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This restaurant serves first class Japanese food in a serene setting in the heart of NYC---and the service is first rate as well. I have been going here for at least two decades, and the service and quality of their food has never waivered---it is simply first rate on all levels. You will never be disappointed here. The atmosphere allows for conversation, thankfully---you can hear yourself talk to your companion, which is not often the case in restaurants that have tables on top of each other. Try any of the sushi---it's fresh, and delightfully prepared and artfully served. Tempura is perfect---anything on their menu is bound to please.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Sushiden is a very reliable place for sushi. One eats very fresh and beautifully presented sushi. A great place to eat for lunch or dinner. I go there as often as I can.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiden Madison Ave also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sushiden Madison Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushiden Madison Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.