We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza and Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lievito Pizzeria

Lievito Pizzeria
581 Hudson St, New York City, NY 10014-5936 (Formerly Valdino West) (Manhattan)
212 645 5811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,236 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Bank st
Transit: subway stations: A,C,E, L 14th street, 1 christopher st
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Been there with family in July, 2kids.
Patio dinner was great, service and food as an Italian Family deserve to have....
A place to have good food and good times.
Recommended by an hungry Italian Family.
Bravissimi

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Cozy Italian a Bit off the Beaten Path”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Mostly found in the West Village but far enough over towards the Hudson to feel like Battery Park, Lievito occupies a space which essentially doubles with the front windows open to the street. Inside the compact establishment, a very good but somewhat limited menu is served and if you see the walk-in closet of a kitchen you'll understand they can't be too ambitious with the selections. A well-chosen wine menu flows out of a noticeably worn bar (5 or so stools). On a slow Saturday night we had the place mostly to ourselves resulting in excellent service (boy they were sorry to see us go apparently). In short, strong on food, weak on location but a reliable place to eat in the West Village.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything about this place is perfect. The food, the staff, the view, the location. The staff is authentic Italian peeps. Not only are they from Italy, but they ARE Italy: unencumbered, kind, willing to really listen to your needs, recommend good plates, follow up regularly and enthusiastically once your food's arrived. It's not cheap, but it's worth every penny.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, PR
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I orded the gnocchi, and it was good. The best thing about this restaurant is the pizza. I tasted my friend's pizza and it was great. It was really full the day I went so we had to wait a little. But the staff was really nice all the time and our waiter was really helpfull. They also have a good wine list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Reliable, relaxed, and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have been to Lievito about five or six times. It is that perfect neighborhood restaurant: reasonably priced, laid-back enough that you can go there without dressing up, but with a lively and elegant atmosphere that makes out-of-town guests feel as if they're "going out." I have tried a few of the pizzas and they were all very good, with a lightly charred, thin crust. I've also had the pea soup, which was delicious, and the gnocchi, which were very tender. They have a good wine selection and some nice Italian beers. In the summer, the sidewalk tables--or one of the tables in the front, with windows that open to the street--make for great people watching on Hudson, although there is quite a bit of car traffic as well. The service is friendly and attentive, and I've felt neither rushed nor ignored here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lievito Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lievito Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lievito Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.