We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fascinating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Body World

Body World
226 W 44th St, New York City, NY (Midtown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 1,632 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I have seen this exhibit twice now once about 5 years ago when it was showing in London and when I saw it was showing in New York while I was there I wanted to go again and show the family what I had seen. It is an exhibit that cannot be explained it must be seen if you have any Interest in the human body, how we live and how our body works. Unfortunately no photographs are allowed apart from with the horse. However this is a very reasonable compromise as the exhibits are all made from real humans donated to science. The information is very interesting and inspires you to chose a healthier life in order to avoid damaging your body.

Visited August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I saw body world in London a few years ago and knew I must return. A unique experience that really had an impact on me. I loved reading the quotes and watching the videos.. I bought a book containing all the text in the gift shop afterwards. A must see! Will make you think again about the choices you make in life in regards to diet, stress and exercise.

Visited August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Anatomy meets Art meets Philosophy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Beautifully constructed preservations of actual bodies, stylized to display the full wonder of the human body from the inside. All with the objective of prompting introspection, reflection on our mortality, and a realization that bodies are fragile instruments that need to be maintained and treated well. This is definitely a unique experience!

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“UNIQUE EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Unique experience - Body Worlds will educate you while leaving you with plenty to think and talk about. Self donated these "polished cadavers" bring new fascination to the human body. You come across healthy vs unhealthy body parts - how can one ever smoke again? Embryo comparisons - 5 to 7 to 9 weeks. A woman who passed on five months pregnant is displayed with the unborn child - very strong stuff here.

As you pass from one exhibit to the next you are constantly reminded - through video and reading - how important it is - both physically and mentally - to maintain ones body.

Although expensive Groupon voucher will provide substantial savings however exhibit is worth the price regardless.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I first saw this exhibit in Milwaukee several years ago during a business trip and always wanted my children to see it. This was the first and main thing my daughter and I wanted to see during our second Mother/Daughter trip to NY. The exhibits are very interesting, but we wish that there were more to see. Also, it would be nice to be able to take a picture of a couple of more exhibits other than the horse.

Visited April 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Body World also viewed

 

Been to Body World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Body World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.