We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westway Diner-Restaurant

Westway Diner-Restaurant
614 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
+1 212-582-7672
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #683 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went there and food was mediocre, and our server was really terrible. He was just very hard to get hold of, and when we finally got his attention and asked a question, he actually said "I don't have a time for this". We were speechless. Then why was he there? He never checked on us unless we tried very hard to get his attention. And even when we got his attention, he was too busy doing something else and he did not treat us as customers.

We usually leave decent tip, but for the first time, we left him a minimum 15% and tipped the other server who helped us finding our server, filling our drinks, and provided some service while our server was not available.

It was our worst dining experience in 2012.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    165
    37
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Should be renamed the Worstway Diner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This establishment really needs to rethink its title perhaps to the Worstway Diner. Having read reviews we decided to give our two teenagers a surprise on their first NY visit with a trip to one of the recommended Diners in NY. It was Christmas Night and we thought that it would be an unusual change in a dining experience for that day, we were right, it was. Our waiter showed little interest in our presence and at one stage walked away from the table mid order. The food when it arrived, both appetizers and entrees within moments of each other, was essentially inedible. To have this with one dish is unacceptable to have it with all dishes is an achievement in incompetence. Despite the fact that we clearly were not making any progress in eating our dishes our waiter steered a careful course away from our table to avoid confrontation. When we flagged down another waiter to ask for the bill he passed no comment on the still full plates. We indicated that the food wasn’t very good but this didn’t elicit any reaction from him. With the day that it was we didn’t complain any further at the cash desk as the manager didn’t even enquire if we enjoyed our meal, perhaps he had eaten there also and knew better! It may be acceptable for breakfast but certainly not for any food substance that requires cooking. Steer clear.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value and good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just happened to stop by this diner and really liked it. The decaf coffee was good and the portions were big. I also liked the orange juice and oatmeal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Toasted Bagel and Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The food here was very good and coffee also, the service is quick and efficient, great value for money. Tastes good too!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food and prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Visited here twice during our stay in NYC and were very pleased with our find.

The food was tasty and plentiful and the service was fast and friendly. The prices are great, and the menu is vast. Remember this is a diner, so dont go expecting tablecloths and silver service!

The chicken noodle soup is delicious and my husband enjoyed his buffalo burger.

Would recommend to a friend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westway Diner-Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Westway Diner-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westway Diner-Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.