We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“took a tour at Columbia University and went here for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Symposium Greek Restaurant

Symposium Greek Restaurant
544 W 113TH St, New York City, NY 10025-8000 (Manhattan)
(212) 327-1780
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,441 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Manhattan
US
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“took a tour at Columbia University and went here for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This place was so small right in the campus but the food was good. The price was even better-the lunch special was all less than $9. They have the most arty menu I've ever seen. The ceiling inside was filled with the paintings. Made us feel like we were Columbia students.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nanuet
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A fun and flavorful neighborhood Greek hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

i remember the first time i went there. had chicken shishkebab and egg lemon soup. which was great. that was September 1973. and i have been going back ever since even though i live out of town now. it is a favorite refuge in the Columbia University area that i return to like a fish migrating back to its origins! the food is plentiful and delicious and freshly cooked and is a great value and there are magical indecipherable Greek writings and vignettes on the menus and on the walls. Columbia neighborhood is a favorite placed to visit for out of town family and friends.. and GUESS where we always eat ! Enjoy your visit to the restaurant and have some authentic Greek dishes !

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Symposium has gone downhill in recent years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I have been here several times in the last few years and it definitely is on a downhill slide, especially the food

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“As 'Greek' as it gets;-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This place has been around for eons..I can't remember when it wasn't there;-) Use to frequent it often back in the day and for some reason, haven't returned in quite a while with so many new UWS places like Kefi..and Vareli which is barely a couple of blocks away..but certainly more 'Med' than Greek!
It was 4 of us..2 couples and a 2.5 year old! We decided to check it out..and all I can say is that it hasn't changed a bit..still 'traditional' Greek dishes on offer..great apps..fabulous house wine..and the little one was treated with typical Greek Style in being fully catered to even with a coloring book/crayons that just happened to be in the back somewhere! Needless to say, would certainly call this place family friendly..gets crowded and loud..especially when the waiter comes out with some flaming saganaki yelling 'Opa';-) Worth the trek and certainly don't think it gets homier or 'Greeker' than this! Great place for a fun night out to enjoy!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“They haven't changed for the better or worse: they have not changed. Period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

I first dined at the Symposium back 40 years ago also. It's a wonderful small intimate and colorful with an ability to get rowdy and noisy as the retsina and Ouzo flow. The food is great: always. It's around the corner from St. John. Cathedral and the Hungarian Pastry Shop so it's worth a trip all on it's own.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symposium Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Symposium Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symposium Greek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.