We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Mexico on the Upper East Side.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cilantro

Cilantro
1712 2nd Avenue, New York City, NY 10028 (Upper East Side)
(212) 722-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,803 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A taste of Mexico on the Upper East Side.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Delicious chips and salsa were served. We ordered drinks - a margarita, sangria and Spanish wine. All were a good size. Our main courses were chicken fajitas and chicken stuffed with goat cheese. The waiter was very attentive asking if we needed anything. Portions were very good. The chicken with goat cheese was big. It was served with mashed potatoes and string beans. Everybody agreed the food was very good. The only comment about the fajitas is that they could have been a little hotter. I would recommend this restaurant. Make reservations to ensure a table.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for delivery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

High quality Mexican food--especially the steak fajitas and burrito. The steak is quite flavorful and cooked to perfection. Ask for their hot salsa as well--it is very good. We have only gotten delivery from this restaurant thus far but hope to make it in one night to see in person. Prices are about average for similar food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value for Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although loud, this restaurant had very good Mexican at reasonable prices. The guacamole served in stoneware was delicious, as were the enchiladas. I'd recommend this restaurant for a good meal!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food and the staff are great. It is a regular visit for me each time I'm in NYC. The staff makes you feel at home and the food is presenetd like the kitchen cares.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value - super food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

My daughter discovered this place and suggested we try it - and we are glad we did. They supply a bowl of crispy nibbles whilst you make your choice - deep fried plantain strips (and a few other things I can't name) with freshly made salsa (the best I have ever tasted!) - this dish was so good we devoured it swiftly, and asked for another - wonderful...

I took the marinated Mexican style steak - which came with chips, the thin string style which are not to my personal liking, but they tasted OK - the steak was succulent and tasty - the marinade gave it a flavour that really added to the delight of the meal. We had a variety of other dishes, non of which I can name - but all were excellent! The frozen strawberry marguerita's were so good - we repeated the experience three times.

The atmosphere was warm and the service brisk and friendly.

If you are in New York - try this place - it's good - very good. We'll be back :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro also viewed

 

Been to Cilantro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cilantro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.