We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sexy Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Habana

Cafe Habana
17 Prince Street @ Elizabeth, New York City, NY 10012 (Nolita)
212.625.2001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Nolita
Description: It was also in the movie - Friends with Benefits...Phone number on receipt is 212-625-2001
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sexy Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

There are so many options for breakfast in Manhattan it can all get a bit mind blowing. This place is just different! Huevos Divorciados is a must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    163
    38
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not even worth a point!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It's not even worth the effort of writing this review... It's way over sold because of its name...

The food is very poor, and the service is better at the halal guys in NYC streets...

The water came as we're leaving (45 mins).. They even refused to give me olive oil for my poor salad. I refused of course to leave any tips, but they went so angry about "this is not how it works" until I had to justify that I won't give my money to poor service and food.

The air condition is so high.. It was freezing.. Little things makes your experience really awful.

Stay away, have bag of crisps and you'll enjoy more.. BAD BAD EXPERIENCE..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited this place for lunch after being recommended. Do not go, as simple as that. Food bad, service terrible, and the air con is so high that food gets cold in 20 secs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Legit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The phrase "Best in the city" has been so overused that most places have been criminally overrated. When I read that Cafe Habana had "The best Cuban Sandwich in New York City", I immediately thought "here we go again". I've had Cuban sandwiches all over NYC, and I have got to say that this was the best Cuban I've ever had. Everything, from the seasoning on the pork, to the thinly-sliced pickle...the perfectly toasted bread and the (suprisingly delish Chipotle mayo) had me wanting more.

You gotta try the Mexican-Style Grilled Corn as well. You'll never look at another cob of corn the same again. The place is always busy and it's a little small, but I loved it. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We visited Cafe Habana after a recommendation and were very glad we did. It's pretty small, and obviously very popular so be prepared to be close to your neighbouring diners, but that is part of the charm. Service was great, and the food was awesome. Everyone will tell you to have the corn, and you definitely should! The roast pork and shrimp tacos were amazing too. All in all a great experience, and it's in a cool area too - very good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Habana also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Habana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.