We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"After Bloomies...."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Capri

Isle of Capri
1028 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10065-8502 (Manhattan)
212-758-1828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 11,596 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $45 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"After Bloomies...."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not far from uptown Bloomingdales, you'll find an excellent
Restaurant Isle Of Capri, not much to look at on the outside,
Inside is a little dated too, and so are the waiters but.......
OMG the food is first class , the veal is a must and the
Steaks an salads are some of the best I've ever had.
Well worth a visit after some hectic shopping.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    51
    14
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love the decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a very nice family owned business. The Italian is from the Naples area. If you like Ossobucco you will love there dish. Love the large round wheel of Parmesan cheese when your first come in in the round table. The appetizers are really good and pastas are also good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not what you may expect from a much respected NYC restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Has all the ambiance you can imagine, windowed porch by reservation, small rooms, somewhat close seating. Menu offering the usual suspectss, no specials were offered to us. This felt to me as Southern Italian foods, more of the sauce dishes. I was disappointed in the Osso Buco, did not have the flavor, and was not surrounded root vegetables or succulent gravy I am so familiar with. My dinner guest enjoyed a parmigiana dish. Good, light and attractive. This is a known, very much reviewed popular restaurant on the east side, at 60th just around the block from Bloomingdales. Would I go again, probably not. Nothing really made me want to say "WOW!" Perhaps it was the lack luster service. We barely had a server. A week night. No reason for that. Pricing, that was up there. Dinner for two, 1 glass wine each, nothing extra, $125.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, RI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Favorite place in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I live in RI, but whenever I'm in NYC- I make sure to have dinner at the isle of Capri. This place came highly recommended from a fellow coworker that lived in NYC.
I've been there three times, and have had some of the best Italian food outside of Italia.
My wife & I love it here, from the amazing appetizers, to the bracciole & carbonara, to the amazing wine selection.
This place can't be beat. The waiters are the best & the hostess, Donna is amazing too, make you feel like you're at home.
Can't wait for our next NYC visit in August, will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than you think!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When you look at this place from the outside, it looks not too special, and it has the vibe of a "neighborhood" spot just on the fringe of the UES. Not being from the UES, I felt totally welcomed, and at home in this place. The service was great and the food was even better. Take your hubby/wifey/GF/BF or "special friend" here and enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Capri also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Isle of Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.