We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Capri

Isle of Capri
1028 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10065-8502 (Manhattan)
212-758-1828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 11,595 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $45 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
MARKHAM
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The owners hover around the restaurant making certain that everything is perfect - and it is. From the initial parmesan in truffle oil, to the sublime pastas, and the delicious veal: piccata and chop, this will be a meal that you will long remember and cherish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    51
    14
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious, quaint, and terrific service all in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

New York is full of marvelous restaurants, and this is another one. Traditional, old world Italian. We ate downstairs which was nice and cozy. Food was delicious for all 5 of us, and with wine, dessert, and full meals we spent about $200 - not bad for New York. Off the beaten path over by the East River and the Roosevelt Island Tram. A real treat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Treated like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A friend who lives in the neighborhood took us to this place he has been going to for 30 years. From the moment we walked in to the time we left, we were treated like part of the owners big Italian family. Food was authentic and fresh. Can't wait to go back next time I'm in NYC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Traditional excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A colleague told me his parents have dined here for 30 years, and knowing restaurant survival in Manhattan means something, I had to try it. From the '07 brunello, to the veal and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top Notch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have eaten here several times while visiting relatives in the city, and it is excellent... The service is great, as is the food... This restaurant has a lot of charm as well... The last time we were there, Joan Rivers was eating there with a friend, so you never know who you might see in this place... Do yourself a favor, and check it out for yourselves... You will not be disappointed...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Capri also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Isle of Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.